A Simple Running Log

March 30, 2020

Training for 3/30/20

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 1:21 pm

Happy 60th birthday to my dad!

Ten years ago, on his 50th birthday, we had a big family party and made him search for a series of clues that led him to his present, a Honda dirt bike my brother had restored, like the one Dad had as a teenager.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Obviously nothing like that can happen this year, but my dad probably prefers it that way. I’m sure he’ll be happier just getting a nap today haha.

Anyway, this weekend was pretty quiet.

Saturday morning, Clark and I did another virtual strength training class hosted by one of the coaches at our gym. Later in the morning, I went out and ran 5 miles along the river trail. I pushed it harder than I had on all the easy runs I’d done all week, and ran a 7:55/mile average.

That afternoon, Clark and I drove around to some local breweries and picked up beer to go.

We stopped by Dogleg Brewing Co. in Vista, which we’d been to before, but this was the first time I noticed the car wreckage on a hillside, in the middle of the industrial park. I don’t know if it was already there and they built the industrial park around it or if they brought it in for some reason.

wrecked car

When we got back to Oceanside, we walked to two more stops — both Stone and Booze Bros. had reopened for carryout.

stone open for carry out

That night, we got carryout from a burger place for dinner and started working on our beer stash.

Sunday, Clark got up early and met a few runners from our running group in Carlsbad for a short run.

When he got back, I could’ve gone out for my own run at any time, but of course I dilly dallied and put it off all day.

I finally went out around 4:30 p.m. to run 10 miles.

I started down by the beach. I read yesterday Oceanside is the last beach in San Diego County still open to surfers, but they had closed the Strand to traffic and the pier to everyone since the last time I ran through there.

strand closed

IMG_3060

Lifeguards were the only vehicles still driving on it, which was nice.

pier closed

pier closed sign

I ran to the other end of the Strand and then did the rest of the run on the river trail.

wildflowers

There’s this huge wildflower field in Carlsbad that had just opened for the season before the coronavirus shut down everything, and will probably be done blooming by the time everything reopens. I won’t get to see it this year, but there are some wildflowers blooming along the river trail, so I’ll just have to be content with them.

The rest of the run was fine, other than some digestive distress the last couple of miles. I screwed up my Garmin at one point, so the distance and pace recorded wasn’t accurate, but I ran about 10 miles at around a 9:00/mile average.

This morning, Kelly started hosting her own strength training workouts from home on Facebook live, so I joined her for that first thing. I tried to steal a couple dumbbells from the gym in our building, but they’d disabled the electronic touch pad thingy to get in, so that was a no-go. But the workout was still fun, and it was good to see Kelly (and her St. Bernard, Lily) again.

Later this afternoon, Clark and I are doing another virtual strength training workout with our gym, which has a four-week challenge starting today. And I’d like to get in another short run.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.