A Simple Running Log

July 24, 2017

Training for 7/24/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 10:02 am

Friday afternoon, Clark and I took Pepper to the beach house. We hung out there with Clark’s parents for a while, and then they offered to stay there with Pep if we wanted to get dinner somewhere. Dogfish Head just released that day a batch of oak-aged vanilla World Wide Stout, so that made the decision easy. We took the Jeep to Rehoboth and scored a parking spot right in front of the new brewpub, and it looked so perfect Clark had to take a picture.

jeep in front of dogfish head

It was so cold inside the restaurant Clark ran over to the merchandise shop halfway through dinner to buy us each a long-sleeved T-shirt. I almost think they keep it that cold in there just to move sweatshirts even when it’s 90 degrees out. Sneaky!

It was pretty late by the time we made it back to Fenwick. Clark’s mom had made up the pull-out couch for us, but we had that bike ride in the morning, so we put the couch back in order and drove home. It was about midnight when I went to bed.

We got up around 6 a.m. Saturday, loaded up the truck and drove to Cambridge. It was another hot, muggy morning.

The ride started and ended at the Y. Clark and I got signed in, and Bart met us there. The 32-mile riders were supposed to start anywhere between 8 and 9 a.m. It was closer to 9 when we finally left the Y.

The route was pretty simple, basically an out-and-back to Ragged Point, with one small extra spur on the way out.

There were three aid stations along the way, one we passed on the way there and back, and one at the turnaround. We only stopped at the one at the turnaround.

bikes at ragged point

Bart’s, Clark’s and my bikes at Ragged Point.

clark and me at ragged point

Clark and me looking like a couple of biker dorks haha.

Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed the whole ride, other than when a giant bug flew into my forehead at speed, which kinda hurt. The heat just doesn’t bother me on the bike.

It was about 10:30 when we got back to the Y. We hung out at the post-ride party with Bart for a little bit. Emily’s Produce, a local produce stand, provided fresh fruit, homemade granola bars and sandwiches made with their nut butters.

Clark and I showered at the Y, then hit the road for Grandmom’s birthday party, which was not at the Hyatt in Cambridge like I’d thought until that morning, but rather at the Chesapeake Bay Beach Club up in Stevensville.

That meant driving through a ton of beach traffic. Saturday is the check-in/out day for most of the rentals in Ocean City, so everyone who’d checked out that morning was trying to get back across the Bay Bridge to go home. As the name of the Chesapeake Bay Beach Club implies, it’s right by the bridge. It took forever to get there. We were almost 45 minutes late.

It wasn’t a big deal though. The restaurant didn’t seem to mind when we all stayed almost an hour longer than the room had been reserved.

It was a very nice party. I got to see most of my cousins on my mom’s side, who almost all live in Virginia. The food was great too. The best part was when my mom and her two brothers started telling stories about growing up with Grandmom for a mom haha.

I can only imagine what Grandmom was like as a mom. She didn’t put up with shit as a grandmother, and that’s when she’s supposed to be nice!

By the time Clark and I got home early that evening, I was exhausted. I was asleep on the couch by 8:30.

I got up at 5:30 Sunday morning for the Run for J.J. 5K in Rehoboth. TK picked me up at 6, and we were at the race site by 7.

Some really strong storms had come through overnight. Unfortunately, it did nothing to help the humidity, but it was at least still overcast.

I did an easy mile to warm up. I was not sore at all from the bike ride the day before, but I was really not into the idea of racing a 5K.

I got in the starting pack. There are always some out-of-town runners in these summer 5Ks at the beach, mostly vacationers who decide to join in, but for some reason, this particular 5K attracts a TON of really fast not-local runners. Looking at the results, we had runners from Virginia, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Louisiana, New York, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Ohio, Colorado, Massachusetts, Wisconsin, Oregon and Arizona, many of whom placed overall and in age groups.

Including the locals from Delaware and Maryland, that’s 18 states represented in a field of less than 300 runners at this little 5K.

I guess this course has a reputation as being a fast one; the all-time 5K state record was set on it in 2007 by a Kenyan runner named Nelson Kiplagat — he ran it in 13:52!

Running with us once again was elite ultra-marathoner Michael Wardian, whose last race before this one was the Hardrock 100-Mile Endurace Run in Colorado, which he finished in 31 hours, 24 minutes.

Anyway, we got the starting commands and we were off. I remembered the only other time I ran this race, in 2011, I was really boxed in at the beginning, when we had to make a couple of turns in the first two 10ths of a mile of the race. I did a better job of placing myself in the starting pack this time, and I didn’t have any trouble.

run for JJ start

Runners taking off.

2017 run for JJ 5K mile 0.2

Running with a couple of guys just after making those first couple of turns.

The first mile of the race, I felt OK. I finished it in 6:59.

By that point, we were in Henlopen Acres, and on the “hills.” I mean, these hills are very easy rollers, with as much down as up, which is probably why the course is so popular if you’ve trained for a 5K. The ups and downs let runners “shift gears” and use slightly different muscles.

But if you’re like me, and you haven’t really trained for anything fast at all, you’ll find yourself just sucking wind and hating life on all the uphills!

I fell off to a 7:27 second mile. Another mile of this crap sounded impossible.

Around mile 2.2, there was a water stop. I walked a few steps to drink part of the cup I grabbed, poured the rest over my head and started running again.

The last mile was endless. Worst of all though, my guts started rumbling. I don’t normally have a problem with that in such a short race, but this time, I had to slow to a walk a couple of times to let things settle enough to make it to the finish line without ruining my shorts.

So mile 3 slowed even further, to 7:40. One last turn and there was the finish line, thank you God!

2017 run for JJ 5K finish

Concentrating on the port-o-potties just on the other side of the line.

In spite of the very necessary walk breaks, I was only a second slower than the 5K last week, and I finished in 23:08.

As soon as I was done running, I didn’t feel like I had to poop anymore. What the hell, butt!

They were handing out ice cold towels right at the finish line, which felt absolutely spectacular. I did another very slow mile to cool down, and got back in time to see TK finish.

When they announced the awards, I was third in our age group. Actually, I was fourth, but they pull out the top five male and female overall runners; the second overall woman was in my age group.

2017 run for JJ 5k awards

Another tiny age group award pic.

I was also 14th overall woman of 123, and 46th of 245 in the open division (there was also a Clydesdale and Filly division at this race.)

Best of all, TK and I are almost DONE RUNNING 5KS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREAKING SUMMER. We have one more to go to qualify for the summer series, the Dam Mill 5K in Millsboro this coming Saturday morning. It’s almost over!

Oh, one other cool thing from this race — Michael Wardian didn’t win it. He was outrun by a local, a high school kid named Austen from Delmar. He’s the son of my high school field hockey coach. He finished the race in 16:23; Wardian wasn’t far behind, in 16:30. The finish line pic is pretty awesome.

austen cave beating michael wardian

How many people have a picture of themselves outrunning a pro?

After the awards wrapped up, TK and I got our iced coffees from Dunkin’ Donuts and headed home. It wasn’t a great beach day, and TK had plans for the rest of the day anyway.

When I got home, I lazed about with Clark and Pepper for a while, and then we actually got up off the couch and cleaned the house. I didn’t turn on the race until I was done, expecting it to be half over, but it turned out it’d started raining 12 laps in and they were just about to get the race restarted, so I really didn’t miss anything. After a bunch more cautions and red flags for wrecks, Kasey Kahne finally won the thing.

Clark and I wound up staying up pretty late, drinking and playing cards, so no, I did not get up early enough this morning to run that 11-miler I put off all weekend. In fact, I didn’t run anything before it got too hot to think about going outside, and at this point, I think I’m just going to call this a rest day and readjust my training schedule for the rest of the week.

4 Comments »

  1. Hey Abby someone shared his blog with me. It is awesome. So well written!!! Great seeing hockey girls out there running ❤️

    Comment by runningfamilyweb — July 30, 2017 @ 7:21 pm | Reply

    • Is that you, Coach Cave? 🙂

      Comment by aschmid3 — July 31, 2017 @ 8:02 am | Reply

      • Yes it is me.

        Comment by runningfamilyweb — July 31, 2017 @ 12:02 pm

      • Very cool you found my blog! Great to see you and your very talented family out running too!

        Comment by aschmid3 — July 31, 2017 @ 4:46 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

