A Simple Running Log

June 20, 2017

Training for 6/20/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:37 pm

Yesterday evening, I went out to run a lap around the 4.5-mile loop. They were calling for strong storms later that night, and the sky was a little gray to the west when I was leaving the house, but it was still hot and sunny overhead, so I thought I had plenty of time to get my run done before the storms arrived.

The first two miles were fine. Then I made a turn and was facing west again — holy crap that storm was moving quick! The sky was flat black and it looked like it was closing in fast. I got a little nervous.

The wind, which had been blowing pretty hard all day anyway, really started to noticeably pick up over the next few minutes. It was starting to feel ominous out there. Still though, I hadn’t seen any lightning or heard any thunder yet, so even if it did start to rain before I got home, big deal. I was already soaked in sweat again because of the humidity.

Then, not quite 2.5 miles into the run, the first huge lightning bolt streaked across the sky. OH SHIT. Wind and rain are one thing, but I don’t mess with lightning.

Just as it was starting to sprinkle, I noticed out of the corner of my eye a car pulling to a stop next to me. Two women asked if I wanted a ride home. I didn’t think twice and jumped right into the back seat. Just as I was pulling shut the door, the bottom fell out of the sky.

It cranked up immediately to an absolute downpour. And the lightning! There was so much of it. It was the only thing we could see out of the windshield.

It turned out I sorta knew both of the women in the car — one I’ve stopped and spoken to when I came across her walking her dogs when I was out running early one morning, and the other did my hair for my best friend’s wedding in 2005. I’ve been running past her salon on one of my regular routes for the eight years.

That was the first time I’ve needed a ride home from a stranger, and boy was I glad they showed up when they did and offered me one!

When I got home, I turned on the news, and there was a freaking tornado WARNING just north of my house. Coincidentally enough, when I told Clark about the warning, he said he just had a dream the other night that our house got blown off its foundation by a tornado, but the garage was fine. Luckily, nothing got blown away by any tornadoes last night.

Anyway, this morning, the storms had moved out and it was a really beautiful day. The humidity felt a little lower and the temperature wasn’t so unbearably hot either.

I went out and ran a lap around the 7.3-mile loop, and when I got home, I took the bike out and rode the 29.2-mile route. Other than having to clean up dog poop BOTH TIMES upon my return, it was a very enjoyable morning.

I guess the next time I go for a run it’ll be in San Francisco! I’ll be back next week.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

