A Simple Running Log

June 13, 2017

Training for 6/13/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 9:41 am

I have a feeling today is going to turn into a rest day. I didn’t get up in time to run before an early assignment this morning, and while I have plenty of time to do it this afternoon if I want, it’s already really hot out there again. We’ll see!

Today they posted the race pictures from Eagleman. First, the Swim-Bike-Runny Schmidts:

kara coming up ramp

Kara definitely walking up the ramp after the swim exit haha.

kara crossing under swim finish

They say this is Kara crossing under the swim finish arch but the screenshot is so tiny I’ll just take their word for it.

me on bike somewhere on course

On my bike somewhere out on the course.

me on my bike horizontal

Having a good time about halfway through.

me on bike back in town

Smiling near the end because I know I don’t have to run a half marathon.

The ones of Dave are the best though. They got this great picture of him running out of the transition area at the beginning, like, “Yeah, this is going to be awesome!”

dave at beginning of run

Running is my favorite!

But then, 13 miles later:

dave at end of run

WHAT WAS I THINKING.

Reality had clearly set in!

Then he heard Kara and me yelling at him:

dave pointing at kara and me

And the announcer said our team name, so he finished happy too:

dave finish

They got some great pictures of Clark too.

clark swim end

Swim exit.

clark on bike

On his bike.

clark finishing run

Coming to the finish line.

Speaking of Clark, last night he told me a story. We’d both taken the afternoon off to go to the beach, and we were driving home through Selbyville. Clark asked if I knew how the town got its name. I said I didn’t.

Clark said it was named for Mr. Selby, a guy who’d caused a tragic three-school bus pile up that killed 150 children, because he was so upset his wife had beaten him in a penny-farthing race and then blogged about it for all the world to read.

mr selby

Mr. Selby on his penny-farthing.

Never mind that penny-farthings, school buses and blogging have never existed in the same era haha. Clark insisted it was a true story. When we drove past a cemetery, he said that was where all the school children had been buried.

The moral of the story — don’t beat your husband in a bike race and then blog about it, I guess?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

