A Simple Running Log

June 9, 2017

Training for 6/9/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 1:51 pm

Eagleman weekend is here!

Yesterday, I ran a lap around the 5.5-mile loop. I was thinking about taking out my bike for one last short ride after that, but when I got home, Pepper laid on the guilt trip big time, so I didn’t leave him again.

Clark got home late last night. This morning, I could go for a longer run without feeling bad about leaving Pepper alone again.

After an unseasonably cool week since Monday, it’s warming up here again. Today wasn’t too bad yet, but tomorrow and Sunday – race day – are supposed to get pretty uncomfortable. Perfect! As far as I can tell, it wouldn’t be Eagleman if it didn’t feel like the surface of the sun.

Anyway, today’s run wasn’t so great. I felt dehydrated. I kept getting cramps and side stitches in my upper body and stomach. Legs felt fine though.

I muddled through a lap around the 8.4-mile loop. I haven’t had a single beer since about lap 375 during the NASCAR race five days ago, so I guess I just haven’t been drinking enough water. I will try to fix that before my bike leg Sunday.

When I got home, I did a little strength training, ab exercises, push-ups and a minute in the invisible chair.

Tomorrow morning, I’ll probably do one last short easy run, but other than that, I’m done with training for this relay.

I think I’m ready! I know Kara is, and I’m pretty sure Dave is – he said he ran about 13 miles, maybe a little more or a little less, this past Monday, and he felt good. The thing is, it was about 30 degrees cooler Monday than it’s going to be by the time he starts running Sunday. He says he prefers running in heat though, so he’ll have plenty of that.

Tomorrow afternoon, we all have to meet in Cambridge to check in as a team together. Then I’ll go back later with Clark so he can check in, we’ll check in our bikes in the transition area, and then we’re staying at Bart and Marybeth’s again tomorrow night. Pepper is hanging out with Clark’s mom again.

The only thing I’m nervous about for the race is the drafting thing. I don’t want to get penalized. I don’t think it’ll be nearly as hard to avoid as I’m worrying it is though.

When I run a race, I’m used to being around a lot of other people running about the same pace. The two times I’ve ridden the Eagleman course with a large number of other people, it hasn’t been like that. Everyone’s doing their own thing, and it gets spread out. When I’ve caught people, I’ve passed them quickly, and when I’ve been caught, I’ve always been passed quickly too. And I have a feeling I’ll be the one getting caught a lot more than the other way around this time haha.

Wish the Swim-Bike-Runny Schmidts luck! And Clark, Bart and Clark’s dad, as they do the whole thing themselves. Should be a fun time!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

