A Simple Running Log

May 26, 2017

Training for 5/26/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:06 pm

Yesterday, I didn’t run, but when Clark got home from work, we went out for a ride around the 18.6-mile loop.

There had been evening thunderstorms forecasted, but when we left the house, it looked like we’d have enough time to get in the loop before one arrived.

Almost, but not quite haha. I had just turned on to a road, a couple miles from home, when the bottom fell out of the sky. It went from no rain to a downpour.

Worse, the wind also went from 0 to what felt like 40 mph in about three seconds. I’ve ridden in some wind since I got this bike, but I’ve never had a moment where I felt like the bike was actually going to be blown sideways out from under me.

I made it to the last intersection before home and turned right. Just one more mile to go.

Just down that road, I spotted Clark, standing off the road under a little grove of trees. He said he was waiting for the wind to die to finish the ride. I said I thought we’d be waiting a while. Plus, there was lightning.

So we decided to take a chance and head home. The main thing I was worried about was a driver in a car with crappy wipers not seeing us, riding in that downpour like idiots on a road with no shoulders. But we were almost there.

Naturally, there was a moment right before we got back to the house that a giant SUV came up behind us as two cars were coming at us. The SUV driver gave Clark an annoyed honk as he swerved around him, but nobody got hit. Phew!

That was the first time I’ve gotten caught in a storm like that on the bike. It’s way worse than while running.

Today, I ran a lap around the 7.3-mile loop. The rain and lightning had cleared out and it was a beautiful day, but still pretty windy.

Tomorrow, Clark wants to go to Cambridge early and do a little practice triathlon, a 1-mile swim, 30-mile bike and 6- to 7-mile run. I’m going along for the bike and run, even though I’m signed up for the Masser 5-Miler again Sunday morning. I’ve not done any speed work or anything to actually train for a fast race, so I might as well put in some miles the day before it. Monday, I’ll probably do another short run.

Other than that, I’ve got my friend’s kid’s (10th!) birthday party to go to tomorrow, and I don’t know what else is going on the rest of the long weekend.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

