A Simple Running Log

May 15, 2017

Training for 5/15/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 10:59 am

Saturday morning, I went out for my third rainy run in a row. At least it was just a 3-miler.

When I asked for that waterproof iPod shuffle for Christmas, I was thinking about how much I sweat while running in the summer, but it has definitely already come in handy during all this rain we’ve been getting lately.

Later, I met my friends and we went to a Japanese restaurant in Annapolis to celebrate Meredith’s and my birthdays (March 6 and April 1) and TK’s surviving another tax season. It always takes the five of us forever to coordinate our schedules, but it’s always worth it when we finally find a block of time that works.

Clark and I stayed in that evening, and watched the NASCAR race in Kansas. I was losing the battle to stay awake on the couch until there was a pretty nasty wreck about 65 laps from the end. That woke me up, and I made it through the resulting red flag and then the rest of the race to see the finish.

As a result, I was a little late hauling myself out of bed Sunday. I simply did not have the time for a two-hour long run before we were supposed to take our moms to brunch for Mother’s Day.

So I just did a lap around the 7.3-mile loop, about half the distance I’d intended. The sun finally came out! It was a decent run.

We went to Chesapeake & Maine in Rehoboth for brunch, and had a very nice, relaxing time.

That afternoon, after Clark and I got home, we took the bikes out for a long ride. Unfortunately, the wind had really kicked up. Oh well. It’s probably going to be like that for Eagleman, so it’s good training.

We did 26.2 miles in 1:32, a 17.1-mph average. The parts into the wind were pretty tough. Of course, the parts riding with it were awesome. At one point, I went to upshift again, and there were no more gears. I don’t think I’ve ever gotten the bike to its top gear before.

We also tried out this GU energy drink mix Clark bought. You mix two scoops of it into a water bottle, and you can drink that instead of eating gels or chews. He bought an iced tea flavor that, once mixed into the water, tasted way better than it had smelled as a powder in the container. Some other runners have suggested I try liquid calories, like that or Tailwind, in place of solid food or gels to see if it helps with my digestive troubles while running. It seemed to work out pretty well on the bike yesterday, so I think I’ll give it a shot on a long run.

When we got home, Clark ran a lap around the 4.5-mile loop, but I’d had enough running that morning, so I stayed home with Pepper.

Today, I have a short easy run and strength training on the schedule.

The St. Michaels half marathon is in six days. The weather is warming up again just in time — it’s supposed to hit 90 degrees by Wednesday. Great! Sounds like we’re in for another miserable race experience. At least I know better than to try to hit a goal time from the beginning now.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

