A Simple Running Log

February 21, 2017

Training for 2/21/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:43 pm

Early yesterday afternoon, I went out to do the easy 5-miler on the schedule. It was another gorgeous February day that felt more like spring.

Less than a mile from the end of the 5.5-mile loop, I passed a house just as someone was pulling out of the driveway. The car slowed when it caught up to me. Driving was an older guy I’d never spoken to before.

I paused my music to say hi. He was friendly enough. Just wanted to ask if I had any upcoming races. Then he asked where my dog was. I told him Pepper had been sick recently and he shouldn’t run with me right now.

“Well, he’s your protector, isn’t he?” the guy asked.

I laughed and said Pepper might look vicious (he really doesn’t), but if anything ever went down, he’d run the other way as fast as possible. He’s my running buddy, not a bodyguard.

The guy looked truly disappointed I’d tell anyone that “secret.”

“Don’t ever let anyone know that dog doesn’t bite!” he said. “You’re very vulnerable out here, you know.”

Great, this shit again. I informed him I’ve been running those roads for nearly nine years now, and I’ve never felt threatened. There was that one weird old guy who said some things that creeped me out years ago, but the state police talked to him about that and I never heard from him again. I’ve never felt physically threatened by anyone.

In fact, the two things I worry about the most are animals (wild animals or aggressive dogs — I’ve been charged twice by a dog from someone’s yard, but never bitten, thankfully) and distracted drivers. Just recently, I heard about a runner, running on the correct side of the road, against traffic, who was struck from behind and killed by a drunk driver who crossed over the entire road.

Those are things to actually worry about. Not the super statistically rare event of a passing stranger plucking me off the road. Maybe it would be smart to carry a cell phone with me or something, but I’m not going to get a treadmill and cower in fear in my house because I might be amongst the 0.00001 percent of adults who will get abducted in their lifetime if I go outside.

Anyway, moving on. This morning, Clark left really early to drive to Pennsylvania again for work. I got up not long after he left and decided I might as well get today’s run out of the way first thing, before I had to cover an early meeting for work, instead of putting it off until the afternoon (and ultimately taking a rest day.)

It was so cold compared to the last two days’ runs! I was about to complain about it until I remembered it is, in fact, still February, so it really wasn’t anything out of the ordinary.

I left right before sunrise. It was a beautiful morning, and I ran another easy lap around the 5.5-mile loop.

Today, I got an email about the Delaware Marathon, the May race at which I was going to pace the half marathon. Turned out they were not able to get enough pacers to fill out the team on such short notice, so there’s just not going to be any pacers there this year. They said they’d remember me for next year though.

Clark asked me if I wanted to do the Crab Run Half Marathon in Cambridge on April 8. It uses most of the same course as the running leg of Eagleman, which is probably why he’s interested. Why not? Looks like I’ve added another race to my schedule.

There’s also a King Crab challenge. You have to finish the half marathon, which starts at 7:30 a.m., in under two hours, and then you run the 5K, which starts at 9:30. It’s only $10 more than just doing the half, and it could be fun. Or awful! Maybe I’ll find out which it is.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

