A Simple Running Log

February 10, 2017

Training for 2/10/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:13 pm

Pepper had a bad night. He started puking every couple of hours before we went to bed, and then kept up that schedule all the way to this morning. Fortunately, he was able to make it outside every time but once, so the shop vac and Resolve only had to come out once, but no one got any sleep here.

I don’t know what’s going on with him. I called his vet this morning after he puked twice more before 11 a.m. The vet suggested pulling all the meds and supplements that’d been prescribed when I took Pepper in Tuesday, to see if he’s reacting to one of those, and then call the vet tomorrow to let him know how Pepper’s doing. If he’s still puking regularly, he’s going to have to get some blood work done.

Well, that was five hours ago, and he’s only gagged up a very slight bit once since then, so I’m hopeful whatever was causing it is out of his system. He didn’t even hack anything up while I was out doing a quick 3-miler this afternoon.

Meanwhile, I’ve got a 50K to run tomorrow morning. It’s been pretty cold here the last couple of days, but tomorrow should be better. Looks like it should be a little above freezing at the start at 7 a.m., and then warm up into the low 50s by the time I should be finishing. No rain.

I’m staying tonight with a friend who both lives closer to Pocomoke City than I do, so I won’t have to get up quite so early tomorrow, and actually bothered to drive down there at least once before this race to see where everything is and run the course, so she knows where she’s going.

The race has an eight-hour time limit. I’m hoping to finish somewhere between 5:30 and 6:00. It’ll be flat as a pancake, but apparently there’s some deep water in several parts of the course, so I don’t know how much of a hit my pace will take with those crossings (or if it’s just been hugely exaggerated by some of the jokers in the Facebook group for this race. I really can’t tell.)

Anyway, technically the training schedule this weekend calls for a 20-miler and a 10-miler, so I think 31 in one go will suffice. Sunday is a rest day.

1 Comment »

  1. Poor Pepper. I hope he feels better soon.

    Comment by afastpacedlife — February 10, 2017 @ 5:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

