A Simple Running Log

February 2, 2017

Training for 2/2/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 1:06 pm

Happy Groundhog Day! Apparently Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow, so we’ve got six more weeks of winter to deal with. Boo.

Anyway, the weirdest thing happened today. I did a speed workout!

Not just any speed workout either — seven 800-meter repeats, the second-longest interval workout on my Shamrock Marathon training plan. If I’d been doing these 800-meter intervals all along the way I was supposed to, there’d have been a build-up from three to seven, but since I’ve been such a slacker up until right now, I just jumped right in to seven.

Another weird thing: I didn’t wait until the last shred of sunlight to get it done either. I went out before noon for once.

Since I have Clark’s old Garmin 220 now, I programmed the workout into it and ran it on the road, rather than drive in town and do these repeats on the track. Seven half-mile intervals (which are technically a little longer than 800 meters, but anyway) with quarter-mile rests between each, plus warm up and cool down.

I ran a mile in 8:54 to warm up, then started the intervals. Not gonna lie, they got progressively tougher as they went on, and I needed a little more walking during each subsequent rest interval, but when I checked my paces after, I was happy. The half-mile intervals were 3:33, 3:33, 3:30, 3:28, 3:31, 3:32 and 3:33, meaning my paces were between 6:56 and 7:06 a mile. I don’t think I’ve made any effort to run that fast since that 5K the weekend after Thanksgiving.

I did a little more than two more miles easy to cool down. I ran a total of 8.4 miles in 1:09:40, an 8:17/mile average.

And when I got home, Pepper hadn’t pooped in the floor. All in all, a successful workout.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

