A Simple Running Log

January 25, 2017

Training for 1/25/17

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:02 pm

Yesterday, I didn’t run before I had to go cover something in the morning, and by the time I got home late in the afternoon, I had zero motivation to go out and run in the cold wind. So I did some strength training at home.

Last night, Clark and I went to The Fork + Flask at Nage, a Rehoboth restaurant with a needlessly complicated name we’d not tried yet. It was pretty good, but the presentation was… also a little needlessly complicated. My cedar-planked salmon came with a small pile of still-burning cinnamon sticks haha:

dinner-at-nage

Those strips in the middle are butternut squash, by the way. They were pretty good. I mean, it was all good, but damn. Kinda try-hard.

Dessert was excellent too. It was cheesecake brulee with sherbet and meringue:

dessert-at-nage

Today, the weather had improved quite a bit. It was sunny and 60 freaking degrees this afternoon! I went out in shorts and a T-shirt to run the 10.5-mile loop, this week’s middle distance run.

I made Pepper stay home. He’s been being really weird about his dog food lately (though he’ll still immediately scarf down any dog treats or human food) and I don’t think he needs to run off any extra calories until he starts eating normally again.

I took my phone specifically to get a picture of some “street art” I saw the last time I ran this particular route that made me laugh pretty hard (but I won’t post it here because it’s kind of offensive if you don’t think dick jokes are as funny as I do.) However, I will post the picture I took of the horse I see every day, who was still wearing his blanket in spite of the unseasonably warm weather. Maybe he feels dapper in it and didn’t want it removed.

horse-in-a-blanket

He tolerates me, but I think he really likes Pepper, since Pepper is often wearing a similar-looking “blanket.” I swear he gives Pep a nod haha.

Anyway, the weather was great, but my legs were embarrassingly sore after doing squats and lunges yesterday. I felt a little like the Tin Man lurching down the road. Overall though, it was a pretty great run for this time of year.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

