A Simple Running Log

December 31, 2016

Training for 12/31/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:47 pm

I don’t usually post on the weekend, but I finished up my running year today, so I’m going to go ahead and sum up 2016.

First things first, today’s run: I had 16 on the schedule but left too late to get in that many miles before noon, when registration for next year’s Rehoboth half marathon opened at a discount for the first 500 registrants. I cut it to the 10.1-mile loop, and it turned out to be one of the best solo training runs I’ve had in a while.

For one, since Pepper stayed home with Clark, I could finally wear my new iPod. I missed having music even more than I realized! That was a big help.

I also wore the Garmin 220 Clark passed down to me after he got his new Fenix 3 for Christmas. It was nice to see the miles tick off, and I think it definitely kept me on pace. I wound up running the 10.1-mile loop at an 8:24/mile average pace, and the last two miles were by far the fastest.

I got home just in time to make sure I was among the first 500 to register for Rehoboth. On Dec. 2, I’ll be running my sixth consecutive and seventh overall Rehoboth half marathon.

Clark also signed up for the half, and he signed up his dad, as a late Christmas gift.

Anyway, that finished off both the month and the year. I’ll do my December summary first.

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (Dec. 1-3): 16.1 miles
  • Week 2 (Dec. 4-10): 20.5
  • Week 3 (Dec. 11-17): 28
  • Week 4 (Dec. 18-24): 32.3
  • Week 5 (Dec. 25-31): 34.7

Total: 131.6 miles

I slacked a bit on the mileage after Rehoboth, but I needed it. I feel ready to get into the heavy mileage of Shamrock Marathon training over the next couple of months.

As far as racing goes, I ran two in December: Rehoboth, which was my fastest half marathon in a couple of years, and a miserable Ugly Sweater 5K with Pepper in freezing rain on an icy bike path. They can’t all be winners, I guess.

And now, to sum up 2016!

Mileage:

  • January: 190.6 miles
  • February: 156.6
  • March: 147.2
  • April: 135.6
  • May: 131.9
  • June: 133.8
  • July: 135
  • August: 160.3
  • September: 178.8
  • October: 175.6
  • November: 136.4
  • December: 131.6

Total: 1,813.4 miles

Last year, I ran 1,581 miles, and decided my goal for this year was to run at least one more mile. Well, I’d say that was a success! I wound up running 232 more. I’m pleased with that total.

Overall, I had a fun year of running, probably mostly due to the fact that I enjoyed my second consecutive injury-free year. No stress fractures, no aggravated tendons or muscles, nothing. A whole year of just putting on my shoes and hitting the road without having to think about what might hurt this time.

I ran a lot of good races this year too:

clark and me jb shot

In February, at the 40K mark of the L.A. Marathon, Clark’s first marathon, which I got to run with him.

marathon medals

In March, I finished the Whale Challenge once again, including my first sub-4 marathon in three years on a windy, chilly day.

coming down the OC bridge

Led the 1:55 pace group at the Ocean City Half Marathon on yet another windy day in April.

2016 st michaels mile 13 2 resized

MORE cold wind and rain at the St. Michaels Half Marathon in May, but it was the three bathroom stops I had to make to tend to my cranky guts that ruined my shot at making my goal time.

masser 5 miler finish

It finally warmed up in time for the Masser 5-Miler on Memorial Day weekend, the kickoff event for this year’s Seashore Striders summer series.

2016 twilight 5k finish

It just kept getting hotter too — the Twilight 5K on July 22 was, according to the race director, amongst the top 10 hottest races he’d ever put on in Delaware.

tk-and-me-before-the-last-blast

TK and me before the final race of the summer series, on Labor Day weekend, just before a hurricane grazed the area.

pepper-and-me-coming-to-the-line

Finishing the Dogfish Dash 8K in September with Pepper. He’s kind of aggravating to run a race with, but damn if the pictures didn’t make it all worth it! This is probably my favorite running picture of all time.

pep-in-cornfield-resized

The October day Pepper set a new mileage PR — he ran 12.2 miles with me!

2016-baltimore-marathon-mile-21-2

Mile 21 of the Baltimore Marathon, my “training” marathon, which I finished in 3:54. I love this race so much I’ve already signed up for it again in 2017.

me-with-monster-closer

After finishing the Monster Mash Half Marathon in Dover. I’ll probably come back for this one in 2017 too — the first mile is on the NASCAR track and the finish is right outside it, and dogs are allowed! So this could be Pepper’s first half marathon.

philly-2016-coming-to-the-finish

Finishing the Philly Marathon in November, my goal marathon, barely faster than Baltimore the month before, thanks to the worst weather (freezing temps, 30 mph sustained wind) I’ve ever tried to race in.

2016-pumpkin-pie-5k-finish

Finishing the Huffin’ for Pumpkin Pie 5K in 21:39, my fastest 5K in a couple of years.

rehoboth-2016

Final mile of the Rehoboth half marathon, which I finished in 1:46 on the dot, while wearing my first ever pair of New Balance wear test shoes.

So, in spite of a lot of less than ideal weather this year, I had a pretty decent year of racing. No PRs, but some strong runs. Maybe I’ll finally break one of my old records in 2017.

Outside of running, I had a good year too. I did a fair bit of traveling.

clark on a surfboard

With Clark on the beach in Malibu in February, where we stayed for a week after the L.A. Marathon.

all of us forsyth park fountain

I spent a week in Charleston, S.C., and Savannah, Ga., with my mom and sisters.

gw-fins

Tagged along with Clark on a short business trip to New Orleans in September, where we celebrated our seventh wedding anniversary.

dogfish-head-road

Spent a week in October driving around New England, including this stop in Maine to see the road Dogfish Head Craft Brewery was named for.

mike-clark-me-and-julie-before-race

Went to Phoenix in November to check off another NASCAR track. Surprisingly, Julie actually wants to travel with us again to a destination track next year! I thought for sure those two drunken idiots on the left had ruined it for her.

And this wasn’t one of my accomplishments, but it was impressive enough I have to add it to this year’s summary:

Clark Eagleman finish

Clark finishing his first half IRONMAN, the 70.3 Eagleman, in June, which he plans to do again in 2017.

So what’s in store for 2017?

Running goals:

  • Stay injury-free for a third consecutive year!
  • Get consistent about strength training again.
  • Get my half marathon time back below 1:40.
  • Run a new marathon PR (sub-3:40.)
  • Run at least 1,814 miles.

I’m already signed up for several races next year: the Algonquin 50K in Pocomoke, in place of a 20-mile training run for Shamrock (Feb. 11); the Whale Challenge at Shamrock (March 18 and 19); the St. Michaels Half Marathon (May 20); the Baltimore Marathon (Oct. 21): and the Rehoboth Half Marathon (Dec. 2.) I will also pace the Ocean City Half Marathon (April 29) again if I’m asked, but the pace team organizer hasn’t started that process yet.

I’m sure I’ll do the summer series again, and I still have to pick a goal fall marathon. Right now I’m leaning heavily toward Richmond on Nov. 12.

And that’s it. Happy New Year! See you in 2017.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

