A Simple Running Log

December 21, 2016

Training for 12/21/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 6:07 pm

Happy first day of winter! Today is an appropriate time to listen to one of my all-time favorite songs:

True story: I got in a ton of trouble in seventh grade when my dad went to listen to his digitally remastered copy of “Songs From the Wood,” the 1977 album on which this song appears, and it wasn’t in its case, because I’d, uh, borrowed it. I was listening to it in my room, through my headphones, when he came in looking for it. Caught me red-handed haha.

Anyway, I’ve been busy running around doing Christmas crap the past couple of days, but I’ve also gotten in a couple of runs.

Yesterday, Pepper and I did an easy lap around the 4.5-mile loop. In the evening, Clark and I went first to Dogfish Head’s brewery in Milton, where he showed off another entry in his ugly Christmas sweater collection along with the hat he’d just bought in the gift shop:

dogfishhead

Yes, the star on the Christmas tree is a bottle opener haha. Then we went to the brewpub in Rehoboth for dinner.

Today, I took Pepper out for another run, this time around the 5.5-mile loop. Not far down the road, a UPS truck was pulling out of a neighbor’s driveway. He stopped in the road to tell me he had a delivery for me, and he’d leave it on the front step. I knew exactly what part of it was, and I couldn’t wait to get back to open it!

We finished the run and I found these beauties on the front step as promised:

new-1400v4s

A new pair of New Balance 1400v4s!

For some reason, they came with an extra set of laces. The only difference I can tell right now is the tips are green instead of pink. Maybe they’re a different length. I really didn’t think anyone cared about the colors of the tips of their shoelaces enough to include another option in the package.

I’ll try those out tomorrow, before I’m driving Aunt Helen to the airport for her trip out to Kentucky for an unknown length of time.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

