A Simple Running Log

November 30, 2016

Training for 11/30/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:51 pm

Yesterday, I went upstairs and did some strength training. I did my usual push-ups, ab exercises and invisible chair-sitting, but instead of a full routine with the weights, I just did two sets of 12 squats and one set of 10 traveling lunges.

I feel like I ran 100 miles! Seriously, this is embarrassing. My quads and glutes are way more sore today than they were the day after Philly. Clearly I need to get back into a regular strength routine!

Anyway, last night, we got our house guest back. This was the couch situation this morning:

couch-hogs

Luckily, I got to work from home today, so I wedged myself right in between both of them. The only thing better than one snuggly dog is two!

This afternoon, I took Pepper for a run around the 6.5-mile loop. (Snoopy can’t run that far, but he also doesn’t mind being home alone, so it all works out.)

It was an overcast and breezy but unseasonably warm day, in the low 70s. The run wasn’t too terrible in spite of my screaming leg muscles. But now that I’m done running and sitting around again… hoo boy!

And that finished off November for me, so it’s time to sum up the month.

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (Nov. 1-5): 24.7 miles
  • Week 2 (Nov. 6-12): 39.6
  • Week 3 (Nov. 13-19): 15.5
  • Week 4 (Nov. 20-26): 42.6
  • Week 5 (Nov. 27-30): 14

Total: 136.4 miles

Decent mileage this month, what with the tapering for and recovering from Philly.

As far as racing goes, I only ran two, a marathon and a 5K, but they were my best efforts at those distances all year, so I was happy with both.

I also got my first pair of wear test shoes from New Balance. So far I’ve only put 31.5 miles on them. I got them at kind of a bad time, since I wasn’t running much leading up to the marathon, and then I obviously didn’t want to run the race in shoes I’d barely run in. However, I like them so much, especially on that trail I ran in Phoenix, I’m thinking about wearing them for the Rehoboth half this weekend. The test ends the Friday after the race, and I have to send them back.

Looking ahead to December, I have two races planned: the aforementioned Rehoboth half in three days, and an Ugly Sweater 5K on Dec. 17.

Other than that, Shamrock Marathon training is under way.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

