A Simple Running Log

November 10, 2016

Training for 11/10/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:03 pm

They’re here!

530v2

These are my wear test shoes! Not gonna lie, I was kinda hoping for something a little less… gray on gray, but I guess they don’t really care about flashy colors at this point in development.

These are New Balance 530v2s. They arrived while Pepper and I were out running today, so I haven’t run in them yet, but they feel pretty good on my feet. I can’t wait to put some miles on them.

The soles are constructed unlike any New Balance shoe I’ve had before. Kinda thick but very lightweight. It says FLX Ride there along the edge, so I guess this is some kind of new construction.

Anyway, as far as training goes, I’ve gotten in a couple more decent runs the past two days. Yesterday, Pepper and I ran a lap around the 4.5-mile loop, and today we did 7.3 miles.

While we were running yesterday, we came up on this older guy getting his mail from his box, which was right on the edge of the road. I really thought he could hear us coming, but I guess he was more engrossed in his mail than I realized. Because right when I was about to say hi, Pepper freaked out about some unseen thing and jumped in front of me, so instead of calmly saying hi, I yelled “PEPPER!!” right in this guy’s ear and scared him so bad he almost flung all his mail in the air haha.

He spun around and saw us, busted out laughing and told us “You can’t do that! I’m an old man! You’ll give me a heart attack!” So I started laughing and tried to explain why I’d yelled like that instead of saying hi like a normal person.

Tomorrow morning, Clark, Mike, Julie and I are flying to Phoenix. I can’t wait! It looks like the weather will be perfect all weekend — sunny, highs in the low 80s, no chance of rain.

The race is Sunday afternoon. Saturday, Julie wants to do some exploring of the Phoenix area. I told her I’d go with her, but I’m pretty sure Mike and Clark are just going to go see what kind of drinking establishments Phoenix has to offer haha.

I’d also like to get in a couple of shorter runs Saturday and Sunday morning, probably in these new shoes since I’ve got them.

We’re flying back Monday. See you next week!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

