A Simple Running Log

October 11, 2016

Training for 10/11/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 1:13 pm

Pepper and I have cranked out some mileage over the last 24 hours!

Yesterday afternoon, we ran a lap around the 5.5-mile loop, and when we got home, I went straight upstairs and did my strength training — ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and weights.

Today, I ran the 12.2-mile loop that I never did over the weekend, but I didn’t run it alone. Pepper ran it with me, and set a new distance PR in the process!

It was one of those gorgeous clear blue sky fall days, so I took my camera along. Naturally, most of the pictures are of Pepper being adorable.

pepper-with-runner-sign

Pepper sniffing around a ‘children playing’ sign near our house, which one of my friends said looked more like a ‘runner running’ sign, for me.

pepper-with-first-stick

First stick of the day, mile 1.7ish.

cannon-hall-1016

Cannon Hall, mile 4.8ish, which has gotten windows since the last time I took a picture of the restoration progress about a year ago.

greetings

Yet another beagle asserting his dominance over Pepper haha. Nearly halfway.

pep-mile-8ish

After he dropped the first stick, but before he found the second. Mile 8.2ish.

too-dumb-to-know-its-too-big

Now THAT’S a stick! On the side of the road in Galestown, mile 9.5.

who-barked

Momentarily distracted by a barking dog in someone’s yard.

trying-to-pick-up-big-stick

Trying and failing to pick it up. Eventually I got him to settle for a much smaller nearby stick, and we got moving again.

october-corn-field

Less than a mile from home, but I couldn’t hold on. Thankful for the last standing unharvested corn field!

pep-in-cornfield-resized

I love this face!

pepper-with-corn-stalk

Last “stick” of the day was a corn stalk. Nearly home.

And that was that! 12.2 miles done for today, 17.7 done in the last 24 hours.

When I got home, I checked my email and found my runner registration card I need for packet pick-up in Baltimore this weekend. My bib number is 2642.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

