A Simple Running Log

September 30, 2016

Training for 9/30/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:57 pm

Another drizzly, windy day for a run here. On the bright side, the FedEx driver dropped off a new pair of New Balance Zante v2s for me this morning, so I got to break them in immediately. (They’re the replacements for the Vazee Paces I got back in June, which really seemed to bother my right ankle when I wore them Monday, so those are now in the bag of dead shoes.)

Luckily, I like the updated Zantes as much as I liked all four pairs of the first version I went through, because Pepper and I had to trudge through ankle-deep water four times over the course of the 7.3-mile loop. So much stupid rain this week! The shoes got kinda gross their first time out of the box. I’d feel bad sending those back.

That will not be necessary though. They felt great, and now I already know they won’t cause blisters when they get wet.

Pepper found another stick, which he dropped with the rest of his haul from the week on the back step. I made him pose for a picture with his pile before I’d give him a treat.

pepper-and-stick-pile

Anyway, that was the last run of the month, so it’s time to wrap up September.

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (Sept. 1-3): 17.1 miles
  • Week 2 (Sept. 4-10): 43.9
  • Week 3 (Sept. 11-17): 52.8
  • Week 4 (Sept. 18-24): 28.9
  • Week 5 (Sept. 25-30): 36.1

Total: 178.8 miles

A little shy of the 190 I had on the schedule, but not by much. Except for the fact I keep cutting down long runs, I’m pretty happy with my mileage so far in this training cycle.

I ran two races — a prediction 5K in which I once again didn’t get close to my prediction, and the Dogfish Dash 8K, with Pepper, which was a lot of fun.

October should be my biggest mileage month of the year. All three scheduled 20-milers land in it, the second of which has been replaced by the Baltimore Marathon on Oct. 15. Right now, that’s the only race on my schedule for the month.

The first 20-miler is supposed to be tomorrow. It’ll have to be tomorrow if it’s going to get done; Sunday is the NASCAR race in Dover, and we’ll be on the road early to go tailgate. I don’t care if I have to run in wind and rain tomorrow for the fifth day in a row, but it better clear out for Sunday.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

