A Simple Running Log

September 23, 2016

Training for 9/23/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:56 pm

Well, I haven’t done anything today, as far as training goes. The original plan was to knock out the 19-mile long run scheduled for this weekend. Then I started feeling guilty about leaving Pepper home alone for at least the first couple hours of it. Plus, I gotta be honest, I just didn’t feel like doing it. So I thought I’d just do the piddly little 3-miler I was going to tomorrow, but I haven’t even gotten my butt out the door for that yet!

I have to cover something for the paper this evening, so if I’m going to run anything, I should get moving soon.

Anyway, the main reason I’d intended to do the long run today is because Sunday is the Dogfish Dash 8K in Milton, and I thought it’d be nice to have an easy day in between 19 miles and a race effort.

Doesn’t look like that’s going to happen though. Oh well. Not like I really thought I’d beat my brother anyway. He hasn’t been training that much, but he did actually buy new running shoes for the first time in a decade a few months ago, so that alone should be enough for him to maintain his winning streak.

So the plan for the weekend, as of now, is 19 miles tomorrow morning, my uncle’s 60th birthday luncheon at the Hyatt in Cambridge in the afternoon, followed by packet pick-up at the Dogfish Head brewery, and then back to the brewery Sunday morning for the race.

The weather looks like it’s going to be perfect racing weather at least, probably in the low 60s at race time, and there’s no rain in the forecast, knock on wood. I guess I’ll see what my legs feel like Sunday morning before setting a time goal.

This is a bit off-topic, but I forgot to mention it yesterday… I got chewed up by chiggers again last week. Chigger bites are extremely itchy and they look disgusting, like huge nasty whiteheads. You can even “pop” them over and over before they finally start to dry up and go away.

Over the weekend, while I was scratching my left ankle, which got hit particularly hard, it occurred to me I never seem to encounter them until the end of the summer. So I googled chiggers, and found an article by the Washington Post, written about this time two years ago, that had way more information than I wanted.

First of all, it’s not my imagination — chiggers really do become way more active in the Mid-Atlantic region in September, when the heat and humidity of summer start to wane. Hey, me too! Or at least I complain about it less.

But then I kept reading. I should’ve stopped reading.

When a chigger bites you, it inserts this little straw-like device into your skin, shoots some saliva through the straw that partially digests your skin, and then sucks up your liquefied skin through that same straw.

Even after the chigger goes on its way (it’s a common myth they’re embedded in your skin, but they’re not), that little straw thingy stays behind, as does the digestion enzyme. The itch comes from the reaction to the enzyme.

But the part that grossed me out is that the “pus” that fills up the bite spots, creating the whitehead look, is just more digested skin, so when I’m popping those things over and over, IT’S MY OWN LIQUEFIED SKIN RUNNING DOWN MY LEGS.

Like something out of a horror movie! The latest attack has finally stopped itching and is starting to fade away, so I’m trying my best to stay out of the woods until it gets cold enough to kill those little jerks.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

