A Simple Running Log

September 9, 2016

Training for 9/9/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 9:42 am

Yesterday, the heat index got into the triple digits, and last night only cooled down to the upper 70s. The hell? It’s not July anymore!

Today is supposed to be more of the same, so, once again, I left for my run as soon as possible this morning. (Which, by the way, isn’t as early as it used to be, because even though it still feels like July outside, the sun doesn’t come up until 6:45 a.m.)

I left Pepper home this time. It took him a while to cool down after yesterday’s run, and today’s was going to be longer, on what felt to me like a warmer morning. He wasn’t happy, and howled mournfully as I walked out to the road. (I really wished I had a working iPod right about then so I didn’t have to listen to that.)

I did a lap of the 6.5-mile loop. I ran into an irrigation system spraying out on the road, and was absolutely thrilled — even though it was only a half-mile in haha. I was already sweating my face off.

The next six miles were fine, other than the torrential downpour of sweat I was producing.

I’m already dreading the 17-miler I’m supposed to do tomorrow. It’s going to be every bit as hot as it was this morning. I can’t wimp out on it though. I’ve been doing pretty good getting in mileage overall, by running six to seven days a week, but I haven’t been making myself do the long runs. Maybe I could actually take one of the rest days on the schedule if I didn’t have miles to make up because I cut short the previous week’s long run!

Anyway, I’ve already decided that instead of doing one long 17-mile loop, I’ll do two shorter loops. That way, I won’t have to ration out my fluids, since I’ll be able to refill my bottle at home between loops. Also, I’ve already accepted it’s going to be slow because of the weather, which means it’ll be one of those days I’m just getting in time on my feet.

Sunday, I’m supposed to do another eight miles. There’s also a 5K in Lewes I might do instead. I’m a little curious where I’m at, two weeks before the Dogfish Dash, though a race a day after a hot long run might not be the best indicator. Guess I’ll see how I feel after tomorrow’s run. I haven’t paid for it yet, so if I feel like trash, I’m not wasting the registration fee if I skip it.

Other than running, and watching the Richmond race tomorrow night, I’m not sure what we’re up to this weekend.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

