A Simple Running Log

August 31, 2016

Training for 8/31/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 10:12 am

Well, today’s run sucked! When I woke up, it was pretty foggy out, so I waited until the fog had burned off enough that I wouldn’t have to worry too much about getting run over. It was still a little hazy for the first couple of miles, but when that finally dissolved completely, it was sunny and about two hours later than I wanted to be out there running on a day forecast to get up into the 90s.

Poor Pepper was miserable. (I was going to leave him home, but decided to take him with me because he pooped during our run yesterday, which meant he’d probably poop during it today, and I’d rather he do it on the side of the road than in the utility room. And I was right — less than 1.5 miles in, he took a dump.) By the halfway point, I was miserable too. We trudged home and both guzzled gallons of fluids as soon as we made it in the house.

Oh well. Runs like that happen.

I was glad I made us run the 9.1-mile loop, even though it was awful, because that was my last run of August, and I said at the beginning of the month I should run about 160 miles. I ran just far enough today to make that a true statement.

So here’s my monthly summary.

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (Aug. 1-6): 21.5 miles
  • Week 2 (Aug. 7-13): 32.9
  • Week 3 (Aug. 14-20): 35.6
  • Week 4 (Aug. 21-27): 46.8
  • Week 5 (Aug. 28-31): 23.5

Total: 160.3 miles

I’m pretty happy with that total, considering the gross heat the first three weeks. The cooler temperatures at the end of the month really helped me bump up my mileage.

I still slacked on long runs though. The only one I finished was the 8-miler at the beginning of the month. I need to get on those in September! It shouldn’t be so hot anymore, knock on wood.

I didn’t race at all in August.

Looking ahead to September, I’ve got about 190 miles on the training schedule. Right now my only definite races are the Last Blast Prediction 5K this coming Saturday and the Dogfish Dash 8K on Sept. 25, but I might do another 5K a couple weeks before Dogfish. We’ll see.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

