A Simple Running Log

August 19, 2016

Training for 8/19/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 9:17 am

This morning, as soon as Pepper had eaten his breakfast, I put him in his harness and we went for a run.

It was a pretty decent morning, low 70s and the ever present 97 percent humidity. Pepper seemed to be in a better mood than yesterday.

He and I were cruising along, about four miles into the 6.5-mile loop, when he had to stop to take a dump. No problem. I stood and waited for him. He was taking forever though, and he kept moving while still in his squat. Then he turned around and I saw the problem — he had a poop ball dangling from his butthole that he just couldn’t get to drop off.

I busted out laughing! I mean, it looked like a turdĀ ornament and his butt was a Christmas tree. It was not going anywhere!

Then it dawned on me I was going to have to… help him. The problem was that he’d somehow eaten a bunch of my hair (probably from licking the couch, the carpets, the bedspread, even though I’m constantly yelling at him to stop licking EVERYTHING) and the hair was stuck in his butthole, and the poop was stuck on the hair. It was like cleaning out a vacuum cleaner attachment after vacuuming a room with a ton of hair on the floor.

I don’t care if that’s too gross to share here. I had to live it.

Anyway, we got through that and finished the run, which was otherwise a good one.

This weekend, I WILL run the 14-mile long run and the 7-mile easy run on the schedule! Other than that, I’m not sure what we’re doing. The Bristol night race is tomorrow and the men’s Olympic marathon is Sunday, which I’d like to see.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

