A Simple Running Log

August 15, 2016

Training for 8/15/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 10:13 am

Well this weekend was a near total bust, as far as running goes, thanks to the ridiculous heat. Fortunately, it looks like it should be back to average summer weather by this weekend, instead of the devil’s butthole conditions we’ve got right now, so hopefully I can get this marathon training back on track.

Clark and I went down to the beach Friday evening. We walked next door to Ropewalk for dinner. We were there when Katie Ledecky swam the 800-meter freestyle and won by like a year, which they were showing on the TVs. It was pretty cool — everyone in the bar stopped what they were doing to watch the last 50 meters and broke out into cheers and chants of “USA! USA! USA!” when she touched the wall.

Saturday morning, Clark and I went for a run together, along Route 1 between Fenwick and Bethany. Clark wanted to do a “pyramid” interval workout: Warm up two miles, then do hard running intervals of 30, 45, 60, 90, 60, 45 and 30 seconds, with a minute of recovery between each, and a mile of cool down, for a total of 4.5 miles.

We left before 8 a.m. and it was already blazing hot. Clark set the pace for the two warm up miles. The first one was a reasonable 8:48, the second one sped up to 8:01. I was already dying.

Then we started running the intervals. The way up the pyramid, I was lagging behind. The heat finally started getting to Clark too as we ran the 90-second interval, and we ran the rest of the intervals together.

He was completely gassed by the time we got to the cool down mile, so we walked a lot of that. Eventually we made it back to the house in Fenwick, finishing 4.5 miles in 41:something, an average pace of 9:15/mile that felt more like 6:15/mile.

I checked the weather when we got back. Not even 9 a.m., and it was 88 degrees, feels like 100. Gross.

We went to the beach later that morning. There was enough of a breeze on the beach that it wasn’t unbearably hot. And of course, the ocean was right there.

I was half asleep on my beach towel when I looked up to see this thing staring at me:

ghost crab

As soon as I spotted it, it noticed me and scurried back into the sand.

It’s an Atlantic ghost crab. Apparently they’re more active at night, which is why I’ve never seen one of these things while hanging out on the beach during the day. For whatever reason, this one was awake and very busy bringing out loads of sand from its burrow. Maybe it was rabid haha. We sat there and watched that thing for a solid half hour.

clark on the beach

Me: Can I take your picture?

Clark: What? No… why do you want a picture?

Me: To remember!

Clark: Where am I going?

Me: It’s not going to be summer forever!

Clark: Fine.

Variation on the same conversation we have every time I want to take his picture, which is why he has that look on his face in a lot of pictures haha.

Sometime in the afternoon, we took the Jeep down to the Ocean City Brewing Company for lunch. We picked up some beers on the way back to Fenwick, then went back down to the beach for a bit. That evening, we walked to Just Hooked for dinner.

Sunday morning, neither of us felt like running a race. It was even hotter than it had been the morning before, and the race didn’t start until 8:15 a.m. We hadn’t pre-registered, so it wasn’t like we were going to lose money by not showing up. So we straightened up the beach house and went home.

We got home just in time for the start of the women’s Olympic marathon. Instead of running the long run I should’ve done yesterday, I stayed in my nice cool house and watched a bunch of other people run.

No American women medaled, but they did finish sixth, seventh and ninth, out of 133 finishers (156 started), so I was pretty impressed.

I was not at all inspired to go out in the triple-digit heat and run a step myself, however. Yesterday turned into a rest day.

Later, I looked up the results of the race we skipped. Due to the heat, they didn’t even hold the 10K, just the 5K.

Last night, we watched more Olympic running coverage — Usain Bolt’s record-setting third consecutive gold medal in the 100-meter race, Wayde van Niekerk’s world-record run in the 400-meter race. And this morning, I saw Emma Coburn win bronze in the women’s steeplechase, the first U.S. woman to medal in that event. I love the Olympics!

I also got up early enough to get in a run myself. I did an easy lap around the 4.5-mile loop. I don’t know how hot it actually was, but it seemed too warm to take Pepper, so I left him home. He wasn’t happy with me, of course, but I think he’d have been less happy with me if I’d made him go with me. Another hot, humid run that had me soaked head to toe in sweat before I’d even made it through the first mile. I hope they’re right about it cooling off to something more reasonable by the end of the week!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

