A Simple Running Log

July 29, 2016

Training for 7/29/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 9:10 am

Well, I just learned something surprising. Remember Punchy, the cartoon guy from the old Hawaiian Punch ads?

Hawaiian_Punch-punchy old

He’s been updated:

Punchy2 new

HE’S WEARING A RED HAT. It was a hat the whole time. I always thought he had stupid red HAIR! I mean, he was offering people a “nice Hawaiian punch” and then blasting them right in the face. Someone like that would have hair like that.

Anyway… the heatwave this week did something nothing else has been able to do in a long time. It got my ass out of bed and running first thing in the morning every day for five straight days!

Every time I thought about putting it off until “later,” I’d remember how hot it already was and how hot it was going to get, and how I couldn’t leave Pepper home alone anyway because of the no AC thing.

Today was technically a rest day, but since I didn’t run Sunday when I was supposed to, I ran today.

I didn’t go out until 7 a.m., the latest I’ve started my run all week. It was overcast, but still warm and humid. I did a sweaty lap around the 5.5-mile loop.

This weekend, I have an 11-miler and another 5-miler on the schedule. No races. I’m not sure what else we’re doing. My family’s two-week condo rental in Ocean City starts today, so maybe we’ll wind up at the beach at some point. There’s also a NASCAR race in Pocono on Sunday.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

