A Simple Running Log

July 27, 2016

Training for 7/27/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 9:19 am

Yesterday, Pepper and I spent the day holed up in the bedroom. I only ventured out of it to get something to eat or let Pep out to pee.

In the evening, it felt coolish enough out in the living room, if I laid directly in front of the fan, to watch some TV. It was still about 90 degrees though. For some reason, Pepper thought this was a great time to snuggle up with my lower legs.

90 degrees snuggle

I don’t get his logic, but whatever.

Clark wound up staying in Pennsylvania overnight. I didn’t know what I was going to do with Pepper when I wanted to go run this morning.

I only had a 3-miler on the schedule, so I figured if I got up early enough it wouldn’t be too hot for him to go with me. I set an alarm for 6 a.m. but didn’t need it because Pepper woke me up 15 minutes before it went off, needing to go out to pee.

When he came back inside, I put him in his harness, much to his horror, and put myself in some running clothes, and we hit the road.

I’d checked the weather before we left: 77 degrees, 100 percent humidity, overcast. No mention of rain. We’d barely made it past the neighbor’s house when I heard what sounded like raindrops hitting the corn stalk leaves. Then I felt them.

It rained on us the whole way, and it felt great! I mean, it was still warm and humid, but the rain helped a lot. It turned out to be an almost enjoyable run.

We got back home. By the time I’d given Pepper his breakfast, the rain had stopped. In fact, the sun had started to come out. That was one perfectly-timed totally random rain shower.

Clark got a quote on a new AC system yesterday. He was going to try to shop around and see if he could get one cheaper anywhere, since he works for an industrial refrigeration company, but this morning he said he changed his mind and will tell whoever gave him that quote to go ahead and order it. Maybe we’ll have AC again by the end of the week.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

