A Simple Running Log

July 1, 2016

Training for 7/1/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 11:18 am

Today, I just did an easy 3-miler. I took Pepper with me. It was 10:30 a.m. when we left the house, humid with a “feels like” temp of almost 90. I didn’t think it was that hot, or I’d have left him home. It wasn’t much fun, but we survived. He got some treats and plenty of water, and he’s back to snoozing on the living room floor.

Speaking of Pepper, I called the vet about the urinalysis and blood work. The vet said Pepper’s urine still has a little protein in it, but it’s gotten better since the last time it was tested. Whatever was off in his blood is still off, but it hasn’t gotten worse.

So the vet wants to add another drug to the amoxicillin Pepper is already taking indefinitely. The thing is, while the amoxicillin is only $13 a month, this next drug could cost up to $100 a month. To treat a condition that, for all we know, Pepper has lived with just fine his whole life, and we never would have known about had he not dropped that weight earlier this year. Weight that he gained back in a month and has maintained since then.

The vet said he’s going to research what the cheapest option would be. I’m supposed to call him back next Thursday to get Pepper’s next prescription.

Anyhow… I have a lot to do around here today to get ready for our annual Fourth of July party tomorrow evening. I also have to go do the shopping at Walmart. Yay.

Tomorrow morning, TK and I are running the Beach Paper Firecracker 5K in Rehoboth, as usual. Looks like it’s supposed to be in the 70s and humid when the race starts at 7:30 a.m. At least most of the race course is on shaded streets.

Hopefully I will be able to get enough done today that I won’t have much left to do before the party tomorrow, other than grilling all the chicken.

I’m not sure what we’re up to Sunday and Monday. I’d like to get some more running in.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

