A Simple Running Log

June 27, 2016

Training for 6/27/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 8:54 am

I said I wanted to get some mileage in this weekend, and I did! I ran double digits Saturday for the first time since the St. Michaels half a month ago, and yesterday, I let Clark talk me into doing an unofficial Olympic-distance-ish triathlon with him.

Oh, first, Friday evening. I did run. I took Pepper out for a lap around the 4.5-mile loop, and when we got back, I went upstairs and did some strength training.

Saturday, I went out for my run relatively early, for me. It was about 10 a.m. when I left the house. It was a sunny day, not too hot or humid. Pretty nice day for a run. I ran the 10.5-mile loop. The second half got a little slow, but it was a good chunk of mileage in the books.

Clark and I spent the rest of Saturday lazing about. “Austin Powers” was on TV. I forgot how much I loved that movie! I can’t believe it’ll be 20 years old next year.

That night, we went to Berlin for dinner, at a restaurant we’d not tried before, Blacksmith. I had halibut over mushroom risotto. It was really good! Even better, they allowed dogs on their outdoor deck, so Pepper got to go. Once again, he tricked everyone there into thinking he is a calm, well-behaved dog. I need to take a picture of our utility room so I can show people the truth haha.

Sunday morning, Clark and I loaded up all our stuff in his truck and went to Cambridge for our own little triathlon. He’s planning on running two Olympic-distance tris in the area in the next few months. That’s a 1.5K (0.93-mile) swim, 40K (24.8-mile) bike and 10K (6.2-mile) run, so we did about that distance or a little more yesterday.

We parked at Great Marsh Park, where the transition area and finish line for Eagleman was a couple weeks ago.

The swim was first, and was the part I was most nervous about. If you get tired while swimming, you can’t just stop or you’ll, you know, drown! I think the farthest I swam the couple of times I went with Clark to the pool in the winter was 750 yards, so not even half a mile, and that was with breaks every 25 to 50 yards. Now we were going to swim a mile in open water.

We swam in the part of the river that was the swim warm-up area for Eagleman. It’s technically a little bay with a jetty about a half-mile from shore. Clark thought it might be shallow enough we’d be able to touch the bottom the whole way across, but we must have been there around high tide, because it was definitely too deep just about the whole way across.

Well, I made it out to the jetty and back without drowning, but I am still pretty bad at swimming. I’m very inefficient. It’s definitely something I’d have to work on a lot if I ever decide to pay money to compete in a triathlon. I think Clark said it took us 47 minutes total to swim out there and back.

My legs already felt a little jelly-like after the swim, probably because I just thrash them around aimlessly haha.

Back at the truck, I swapped my swimsuit for a pair of compression shorts and a tank top, and Clark got into his biking shorts with the padded butt. I need a pair of those! My butt does not like bike seats.

For the bike leg, we followed the Eagleman course to a point and then turned around. Clark kept having to wait for me to catch up before he could make a turn. He’s still much faster than I am on the bike. We wound up riding 27 miles. I’m not sure how long it took us.

We got the bikes loaded back on the truck. Clark swapped his bike shorts and shoes for running shorts and shoes. I didn’t have to make any costume changes between the bike and run.

It’s been a long time since I’ve tried to run after biking, and I’ve never tried to run after biking 27 miles and swimming one. My legs were toast!

We followed the Eagleman run course for the first 3.1 miles and then turned around and went back. I needed a walk break every time Clark’s watch beeped a mile, and then some walk breaks in between the mile markers the last couple of miles.

I’d eaten a GU halfway through the bike and another just before we started the run, taken a couple of salt caps and drank plenty of water, but it didn’t seem like it was enough. I was on fumes for the run.

We finished it though! I was so glad to get back to the park. I refilled my water bottle at a drinking fountain and then got back in the river. Right there by the shore, the water was the perfect depth that I could sit on the sandy bottom and be up to my neck in the water. Very refreshing!

Start to finish, it took us about four hours and 15 minutes. Of course, we biked a little farther than we would in an actual Olympic-distance tri, and our transitions were extremely slow, with all the clothes changing and having to unload and reload the bikes in the truck.

I changed again into dry clothes, and then we went to RaR Brewing for lunch. We wound up talking to this couple from Columbia (the town in Maryland, not Colombia, the country) who were in Cambridge on vacation specifically so the guy could train on the course for the full Ironman there this fall, which he’s signed up for. Maybe we’ll see them in October. I’m sure we’ll be at Bart and Marybeth’s house to spectate.

We went home after a long lunch there. We didn’t make it in time to see the end of the Sonoma race, so we didn’t get to see Tony Stewart win it, his first in three years and possibly his last, since he’s retiring at the end of this season. Oh well. That’s what the internet is for. It looked like a pretty good race.

One of our friends came over last night, so we stayed up a little too late drinking beer. I’m kinda sore and hungover this morning. I think I’ll be OK for a few miles later today though.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

