A Simple Running Log

May 27, 2016

Training for 5/27/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 11:50 am

This morning, I didn’t feel like running as soon as I got up. However, I knew it was going to get hot, so after I fed Pepper his breakfast, I resisted the urge to go back to bed and got dressed anyway.

As soon as Clark got back from swimming in Cambridge, I headed out for my run. It was about 75 degrees, sunny and humid. I just did a lap around the 5.5-mile loop. My legs were a bit sore after yesterday’s speed work, and it always feels so much harder to breathe when it’s humid like it was anyway, so I took it pretty easy.

Now I’m trying to write the story on the high school graduation I covered last night. I read once food writers consider Thanksgiving to be their bane. How do you write something fresh about Thanksgiving, when everyone likes the same roasted turkey and pumpkin pie every year? Well, freaking high school graduation is mine. Everyone always says the same thing: We’re so special, because we’re the (insert school here) Class of (insert year here)! We’re going to rule the world! This is just the beginning, not the end!

I have been attending high school graduations since 1998, when I was a freshman in my high school’s band and had to help play the processional and recessional music. By the time I was one of the graduates, I was very ‘meh’ about the whole thing. And now that I’ve had to write about them, I really have a hard time drumming up any enthusiasm for it. Oh well, it’s my job. So congrats, Class of 2016! All 3.3 million of you.

Anyway… it’s Memorial Day weekend, so that means Masser 5-Miler time! Tomorrow, I’ll probably do one more short easy run, and then the race is Sunday morning. Looks like we should get decent-ish weather. It’ll be warm, but not as hot as it has been in past years. I’d like to beat my 8K time from last September. I guess I’ll say 36:30, or 7:18/mile pace. That looks too fast when I write it down like that!

Other than that, I’m not sure what we’re doing this weekend.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

