A Simple Running Log

May 26, 2016

Training for 5/26/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 11:24 am

Today, I did my second speed workout this week! I got it done early in the morning for the second day in a row too! I’m on a roll!

I went in town to do some 800-meter intervals on the track. Since I did four hill repeats Tuesday, I figured I’d do four intervals today.

I have a 5-mile race in three days. I don’t know what pace to shoot for. Last September, I ran an 8K, which is just shy of 5 miles, in 36:49, a 7:24/mile pace. I’d like to think I’ve improved at least a little since then, as I’ve been consistently running, but I don’t know. Not much of that running included speed work.

Well, when I used to run 800s regularly, I generally stuck to a goal of 3:30 each, or 7:00/mile pace. Not that I think I’ll be able to maintain that for Sunday’s race, but it made for a nice even number to aim for.

Today is supposed to be around 90 degrees. It was already in the low 70s when I got to the track, and sunny. I’m not complaining though. It’s nice that it finally feels like late spring around here.

I ran an easy mile to warm up, and then took off for the first interval. The first one is always slow. I came through the first lap already five seconds behind goal pace. I picked it up a bit for the second lap and finished the first interval in 3:34.

Recovery lap, then second interval. This one went a little better, but was still slow, 3:32.

Another recovery lap, then the third interval. I finally felt like I was getting into a groove, and ran it in 3:28. Nice.

One more recovery lap, and then the final interval. Unfortunately, my digestive system reared its ugly head. I finished the interval, but had to pause once on each lap to let things, uh, settle. Those two little breaks definitely helped me run the interval faster, because I finished it in 3:20.

Luckily, the port-o-potties they set out for spring sports are still there, so I was able to take care of business in a civilized manner, instead of climbing the fence on the back stretch and running in the woods, which I have done before.

At that point, I was technically done with the intervals, but I didn’t like it that I hadn’t run that last interval straight through. So I did something I’ve never done before — I added an interval to the workout. I also liked that by running five half-mile intervals, I’d run a total of 2.5 miles at a hard effort, exactly half the distance of my next race. Not that it really matters.

So I ran a recovery lap and then ran my fifth and final interval in 3:30. I did another 1.5 miles to cool down, for a total of 6 miles today.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

