A Simple Running Log

May 19, 2016

Training for 5/19/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:34 pm

I’ve been a bit of a slacker these last couple of days. Tuesday, I never got around to running OR strength training, and yesterday, I did finally take Pepper out for a lap around the 4.5-mile loop, but I couldn’t get my butt upstairs for strength training afterwards. Oh well.

Today, I brought Clark’s truck to the mechanic near my office who’s done most of the maintenance on my car. I thought it was a little funny when the shop assistant who went to move the truck couldn’t do it because he didn’t know how to drive stick. Most people don’t really need to know that, since they’ve now got vehicles that will parallel park, brake and even back up a trailer by themselves, but it seems like someone who works at a garage would need that skill.

Anyway, whenever they get done with the truck, I’m heading back home, and I should take Pepper out for another run and finally do that strength training.

The St. Michaels half marathon is now two days away. Last year, this was the race that was so hot I wound up sick the rest of the day. We will not have that problem this year. They’re calling for rain, wind and high temps in the low 60s, which means it’ll be even cooler at 7:15 a.m. when the race starts.

The race organizers sent out an email this morning letting everyone know the race will go on even if it’s raining. (I didn’t realize there were people who thought races had rain dates until I read Shamrock’s Facebook page comments earlier this year, when the forecast was calling for rain.) The email also told us to allow even more time to get into town and parked, because “traffic will be slow on race morning due to the rain.” That’s a nice way of saying “People drive like absolute panicked jackasses as soon as it starts to drizzle.”

Oh well. I don’t mind rain, and I’m glad I don’t have to worry about a repeat of last year’s miserably hot run. I’m just not looking forward to getting up even earlier than I already had to.

In news not related to running, Kyle Busch is driving a throwback paint scheme at Darlington later this year:

throwback interstate batteries

This paint scheme is to celebrate Interstate Batteries’ 25-year sponsorship of Joe Gibbs Racing, so technically this is a throwback to the car when Dale Jarrett drove it, but it makes me think of the driver who took it over in 1995:

bobby labonte 1995 car

Bobby! This picture is from the 1995 Coca-Cola 600, his first career Cup win.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

