A Simple Running Log

April 27, 2016

Training for 4/27/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:45 pm

Today is a solid 30 degrees cooler than yesterday, and overcast. Since I didn’t take Pepper running yesterday, and I had to leave him home alone earlier to go to an appointment, I skipped the speed workout and took him out for another shorter run.

We did the 4.5-mile loop again. He wasn’t quite as pokey the first two miles as he was Monday, but they were still pretty slow — 10:08 and 9:35. Just before the end of the second mile, a dog in a neighbor’s yard boofed at us, and it seemed to light a fire under Pepper’s ass.

We were getting through the third mile pretty quickly, until we came up on a right turn. For some reason, Pepper wants to cross the road to make the turn waaaay before we’re anywhere near it. I don’t want to cross that soon, in case a car comes up behind us before we get to the turn. I don’t like the cars coming up on our back. Lately, Pepper’s gotten into the habit of slowing to a walk until I let him cross the road. He did that again today.

As soon as I let him cross the road, he sped back up. Mile 3 beeped in 7:47 in spite of the walking.

I really wanted to see how fast we could run a mile straight through, so I just let him go as fast as he wanted for the fourth mile. A couple times, he slowed down like he wanted to investigate a stick on the side of the road, but I kept him moving. He also slowed a bit as we ran past a few houses in a row that had trash cans at the ends of the lane waiting for pick up. That dog hates a trash can, especially if it’s overflowing.

Mile 4 came in at 7:15. Not bad!

We ran the final half-mile in 3:50, and finished the whole loop in 38:35, an 8:34/mile average.

Last night, we went over to Clark’s coworker’s house. They just got a cat. Pepper did the same thing he does when he sees one in our yard; he just stared at it for a long time. Eventually he got up the nerve to lie down near it. I got a couple of pictures of him with this cat that clearly hated his guts.

IMG_4580

“Hello, cat!”     “Get out of my house.”

pepper and cat

“We’re friends now!”    “I’m plotting your death.”

That derpy smile on Pepper’s face has been making me laugh since I took this last night haha.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

