A Simple Running Log

April 26, 2016

Training for 4/26/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:50 pm

Yesterday, I took Pepper out for a lap around the 4.5-mile loop. I wore my Garmin again, to try to run my pace group pace.

I needed to slow down from Sunday’s pace, and boy did I ever. Pepper was absolutely dragging ass. The first mile was 12:12, which included a lot grass-sniffing, pee-spritzing, general lollygagging and one poop stop (for Pepper.) There was more running in the second mile, but it was still 9:47. Pepper took a second poop stop in the third mile, which came in at 10:32.

It wasn’t until after that third mile that Pepper felt like picking it up, probably because he knew we didn’t have far left to run at that point. Mile 4 was 8:19, and the last 0.5 was 4:11.

We ran the loop in 45 minutes on the dot, a 10:00/mile pace. It’s a good thing Pepper wasn’t planning on pacing with me. I don’t think I’d be invited back.

I did a little strength training when we got home, just ab exercises, push-ups and invisible chair-sitting.

Today, I did another lap around the 4.5-mile loop, aiming for 8:46/mile. I didn’t take Pepper because, A, he sucks at maintaining any kind of consistent pace until he knows he’s almost done, and B, it was too warm by the time I finally went out to do it, in the mid 80s and sunny. At least the humidity wasn’t bad at all though.

It was also pretty windy, sustained 20 mph winds with gusts up to 25 mph. There’s always a chance for wind like that during a race on the coast like this weekend’s, so it doesn’t hurt to run in it beforehand.

Once again, even running into the wind, I was a little too fast. My splits were 8:29, 8:21, 8:30, 8:38 (not bad) and 4:14 for the last half-mile. I did the whole loop in 38:21, an 8:28/mile pace.

I’ve got a speed workout planned for tomorrow, but I’ll probably do a couple more 4.5-milers at goal pace before Saturday’s race.

Speaking of races, yesterday I signed up for the 10K on May 7 in Cambridge. Clark said he and his coworker had found a bike ride in Cambridge that same morning, that offers a chance to ride the entire 56-mile course they’ll use in the Eagleman. So I started thinking about poor Pepper, home all alone that morning, and how easily he could run 6.2 miles… I emailed the race director to see if he is allowed to run with me. Apparently the only person in the world who can answer this question is on vacation until next Monday. Fingers crossed when she gets back she says Pepper can raceĀ his first 10K!

I also scored a good deal on my fourth pair of New Balance Fresh Foam Zantes, only $51 with shipping. They should be here next week.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

