A Simple Running Log

March 31, 2016

Training for 3/31/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:10 pm

Today, Pepper and I did a lap around the 5.5-mile loop. It’s a pretty awesome day out, other than the wind. I’ve about had it with the steady 25 mph wind around here lately. What is this, Kansas?

That was my last run of the month, so it’s time for my monthly summary.

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (March 1-5): 23.9 miles
  • Week 2 (March 6-12): 40.6
  • Week 3 (March 13-19): 20
  • Week 4 (March 20-26): 38.2
  • Week 5 (March 27-31): 24.5

Total: 147.2 miles

Another good mileage month, even with the taper for and recovery from Shamrock.

I only ran the two races at Shamrock this month, but I was pretty happy with both of them, especially the 3:54 in the marathon.

Looking ahead to April, I only have one race, the Island 2 Island Half Marathon on April 30 in Ocean City, in which I’m pacing the 1:55 group. Other than that, I’m just training for the St. Michaels half in May.

I signed up today for next year’s Whale Challenge at Shamrock, before the first price increase tomorrow.

I have two alarms set in the next 19 hours to sign up for two more races: At midnight tonight, registration for the Philly Marathon in November opens, and the first 500 to sign up get in for $85. It goes up another $20 after those first 500. At noon tomorrow, registration for the Dogfish Dash 8K in September opens. Last year, the entire 2,500-runner field filled up in less than 10 minutes, so you gotta be fast.

My brother said he wants to do the same deal as last year — whoever runs it faster between the two of us has to pay the other one’s entry fee. He smoked me by three minutes last year, so odds are I’m going to be paying up again this time, but you never know!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

