A Simple Running Log

March 25, 2016

Training for 3/25/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:39 pm

I called Pepper’s vet this morning about the urinalysis. He said it was fine, except there was some protein in it. Not a lot, but there’s not supposed to be any in it, so that means for some reason, Pepper’s kidneys aren’t doing their job exactly as they should be.

What’s worrisome is that Pepper has twice tested positive for the organism that can cause Lyme. Not the disease itself, just the organism that can cause it. He did a round of antibiotics after each positive test, but that wasn’t a guarantee it was gone for good. And one of the symptoms of Lyme is kidney failure.

This doesn’t mean Pepper has Lyme, but something is off, so I’m supposed to bring him in for another urinalysis next month, to see if it’s gotten any better.

The vet said it’s a very good sign that Pepper doesn’t seem to feel bad at all. I believe he said dogs that are actually sick don’t have all the “vim and vigor” Pepper was displaying in the office yesterday. (That’s a nice way of saying Pepper can be a hyperactive butthole when he’s excited haha.)

But still, if it is Lyme, it’s incurable, and there’s not really anything they can do treat it.

The vet told me to just feed him a lot of high-calorie food, get the pancreas booster he talked about yesterday to see if that helps and not to worry. He sounded pretty positive.

So naturally, as soon as I hung up, I burst into tears. Do not use the word “incurable” when talking about my dog!

I cried myself out until thought I had my shit together. I called Clark to tell him what the vet had said, but as soon as Clark answered and I tried to get any words out, I just started cry-gasping into the phone. Poor Clark must have thought Pepper had about a week to live.

I managed to get out “It’s not as bad as I’m making it sound.” Then I finally got out the story. Clark said we should just stay positive. So that’s what I’m going to do.

I mean, Pepper seems totally normal. It’s just so weird that he would lose that much weight for no apparent reason. Fatten up, Pep, for me!

Anyway, I just took Pepper for a 3-miler. He acted just like his usual self — slow and pokey on the way out, dead sprint on the way back.

This weekend begins the abbreviated training plan for the St. Michaels half. I’m supposed to do a 90-minute run tomorrow, which will probably be the 10.5-mile loop, and then a short easy run Sunday morning.

Tomorrow evening, we’re having dinner at Clark’s parents’ house to celebrate my sister-in-law’s birthday, and Sunday is, of course, Easter, so I’m making one of my two annual appearances at church in the morning, and then we’re going to my parents’ house for dinner. Happy Easter!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

