A Simple Running Log

March 18, 2016

Training for 3/18/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 9:51 am

Well, it’s here! My favorite race weekend of the year — Shamrock!

As soon as I finish this post, I’m packing my stuff and hitting the road. I should be in Virginia Beach sometime late this afternoon.

Clark was scheduled to go to a conference for work this weekend, so I made plans to split a room with my friend Caitlin, two blocks from the start line of both races. He wound up getting out of the conference, but he’s not going to Virginia Beach. I didn’t want to back out on Caitlin, and Clark’s parents, the only people who like Pepper enough to watch him for us, are on vacation until tomorrow night, so I don’t know what we would have done with him. So Clark and Pep are getting a boys’ weekend without me. Pepper’s dream come true haha.

Anyway, I think it’s just Caitlin and me tonight. We’re both running the 8K tomorrow morning. Then a few more of our friends from the Loop are getting in town tomorrow afternoon for the half or marathon Sunday.

The weather for Sunday is still iffy. It’s going to be chilly and breezy, and possibly raining. I’m just going to pack one of everything of my running clothes and decide that morning.

I haven’t been training for this marathon with a specific time goal in mind, and now that the weather could possibly be pretty bad, I really don’t have a solid goal. I think I’ll start somewhere between the 3:45 and 4:00 pacers and see what happens. It would be nice to run sub-4 again after missing it by a couple of minutes twice last year, but I’m not going to beat myself up over missing it again if we’re running half the race head-on into 20 mph wind.

Whatever happens, there will be Yuengling in the beer tent when it’s over. I can’t wait!

Oh, the other day, I was wasting some time on the internet, reading through the ratings and reviews on this race’s Facebook page. (Internet commenters are an endless source of entertainment for me.) Every single one I saw was a five-star rating, except one. It’s not clear if this guy was actually in town last year for the race, or if he just happened to book a hotel room near the start line, but this made me laugh:

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 2.41.49 PM

The true spirit of Shamrock haha.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

