A Simple Running Log

March 1, 2016

Training for 3/1/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:03 pm

I have a long day of meetings to cover, so my only chance to run all day was first thing this morning. If I was worried about somehow missing my 6:15 a.m. alarm, I shouldn’t have — Pepper was relentlessly pestering both of us for his 6:30 breakfast at least an hour early. I wonder if the beginning of Daylight Saving Time in less than two weeks will fix that, since the sun won’t be up as early. Probably not.

Anyway, after I fed him (technically early, though he acted like it was at least six hours late), I got dressed and headed out.

When I ran late yesterday afternoon, it was in the 60s and perfect shorts and T-shirt weather. It was a little chillier this morning, down near freezing. I had to dig out some dirty tights from the clothes hamper.

I’d done strength training last night for the first time since before we went to L.A., so my everything felt a little tight. It was a decent run though. I did another lap around the 5.5-mile loop.

Today, I am very disappointed in NASCAR. Like it wasn’t hard enough to convince non-NASCAR fans we’re not just a bunch of dumb rednecks, the CEO of the sport, Brian France Jr., publicly endorsed Donald effing Trump at a campaign rally yesterday at a Georgia university. The same rally from which Trump had 30 black students removed by the Secret Service for doing absolutely nothing, other than going to an event at a school they are paying to attend.

France was joined by drivers Ryan Newman, David Ragan and Bill and Chase Elliott, who all said what a great change Trump will be for America. Seriously? The man has no actual ideas! All he does is yell buzzwords and insult anyone who disagrees with or challenges him. He’s a buffoon. It’s embarrassing anyone sees him as a legitimate candidate to run a country.

I try not to air my political views anywhere even remotely public if I can help it, but this really pissed me off. NASCAR fans aren’t all like this!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

