A Simple Running Log

January 19, 2016

Training for 1/19/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:31 pm

Yesterday, it was pretty late in the afternoon by the time I made it home. There was also a little bit of dog poop in the back room. Not much though, and Pepper had held a lot more of it until after I’d let him out, so I wasn’t upset about it.

After watching him use the bathroom in the back yard with his ears blowing in the icy wind, I just couldn’t make him go back out in that weather to run three miles with me. It was also too late to make it to the trail, and the idea of leaving him in the back room again while I ran alone made me feel guilty.

So I put on my sweats and we snuggled on the couch together instead.

This morning, I got up early to get in that 3-miler before work. I checked the weather on my phone — a feels like temp of 0 with the wind chill. Definitely too cold for Pepper!

Clark had left to go swimming at the pool in Seaford. I knew for a fact I’d never go out and run if I tried to put it off until after work, because the wind was just going to pick up. It was already blowing at 6:30 a.m., but it was the lightest it was going to be all day. Pepper was just going to have to deal with being alone for a little bit.

I put on what felt like half a laundry load of running clothes: Two pairs of tights, two base layer shirts, windproof pullover, mid-calf socks over the tights, fleece hat, thick fleece gloves and a fleece scarf to pull up over my face when I had to run into the wind. It felt like it took as long to get dressed as it was going to take to run.

I stepped outside into the icebox. Gah! The little bit of exposed skin on my face immediately started to sting. Oh well. Suck it up, it’s only three stinking miles.

Once I got moving, it was OK. I tried to distract myself from thinking about how cold it was by concentrating on how pretty the sky was. It was before sunrise but the sky was lightening up, and there were layers of deep blue, purple, pink and orange on the horizon.

I made it through the run. Everything felt good but my face. It’s hard to keep that scarf in place. Maybe I should stop by Walmart and see if there’s anything in the hunting section that’ll stay. Winter isn’t going anywhere anytime soon, unfortunately.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

