A Simple Running Log

January 6, 2016

Training for 1/6/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:11 pm

I never ran yesterday. I came home between meetings, but there was an enormous amount of dog poop in the utility room that had to be dealt with. Not to get too graphic, but somehow Pepper made the largest pile so gloopy on top it was hard to pick up, yet so crusty on the bottom it couldn’t just be wiped off the linoleum. I told Clark the dog is the Picasso of poop. Maybe he’s more like the Martha Stewart of poop though. He quit painting it all over the walls and floor a long time ago. Now he just bakes up a perfect log. So gross.

Anyway, by the time I finally got that room cleaned up, all I felt like doing was punishing Pepper by avoiding eye contact and refusing to pet him for the rest of the evening, until I had to leave again. Plus, if I’d taken him for a run, I’d have had to give him a treat after, and the last thing that dog deserved was a treat.

Today, I didn’t have to go anywhere for work, so there was no threat of dog poop in the house. It was also a pretty nice day for a run, compared to the last couple of days. It’s still cold, but there was absolutely no wind and not a cloud in the sky, so we had the benefit of full sunlight. I was in a much better mood for a run.

I took Pepper out for the easy middle-distance run on the schedule. It was a routine run around the 8.4-mile loop. I got a little chilly anywhere the sun was blocked by trees, but other than that, I was comfortable in just a pair of tights and one cold weather long-sleeved top.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

