A Simple Running Log

January 5, 2016

Training for 1/5/16

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 1:07 pm

Just last week I was thinking how un-wintery the weather was. So nice and warm. Maybe it would stay like this until spring! Good thing I have plenty of shorts.

Then, over the weekend, I had to put on long sleeves. Then full-length tights.

Yesterday, though, I needed: A wool undershirt, a long-sleeved cold weather top with a hood and attached piece to pull up over my face to block wind, an earband, tights, mid-crew socks I could pull up over the tights and gloves.

In the words of Ron Burgundy:

escalated

It was COLD, is what I’m trying to say.

The worst part was the wind. A steady 20 mph “breeze” that dropped the feels-like temperature into the 20s. I hate cold windy days!

I only had a 3-miler on the schedule though. I could suck it up long enough to get through that. I made Pepper go with me too. I didn’t realize just how cold it felt outside until we were already there, or I probably would’ve let him stay inside.

The way the wind was blowing, there was only about a half-mile, right after the turnaround, that we had to run head-on into it. Icy tears were streaming down my face the rest of the way home after that.

This morning, I had every intention of getting up early enough to do 4.5 miles before work, but it was 18 degrees with a 12 mph wind blowing. Haha nope. I have a break this afternoon between meetings so I’ll run then, when it’s supposed to be 29 (almost to freezing!) and the wind will have died down.

It’s supposed to be in the upper 50s again by this weekend. I can’t wait!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

