A Simple Running Log

December 11, 2015

Training for 12/11/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 12:18 pm

Something very exciting happened last night — Clark and I both registered for the 2016 L.A. Marathon!

The race is Sunday, Feb. 14. Valentine’s Day! It’ll be Clark’s first and my 11th marathon (12th if you count my DNF at my first Shamrock.) We are running it together. Mile 20 will probably be the truest test of our marriage thus far, but all will be forgiven after the finish line haha.

This actually started almost four years ago. I have a saved text from Clark he sent me in March 2012: “I was looking at the la marathon course. It looks pretty cool, plus its all downhill. Maybe I’ll attempt it if I ever get healthy.”

Well, three months later, he got the first of two surgeries to remove and bypass his jerkface colon, so we’re running this thing. I am so excited!

Normally, L.A. is the kind of event I would avoid. One, it’s huge. Almost 22,000 finishers last year. Two, the logistics suck. We have to be on a shuttle to the start line (point-to-point course) at 4:30 a.m., three hours before the actual start. Three, the registration fee made my stomach drop. It is by far the most I’ve ever paid for a single race, and almost double what I typically pay for a marathon.

But Clark has always loved that city, and admittedly, the course does look really cool. It starts at Dodger Stadium and ends in Santa Monica near the pier, hitting all the big landmarks in between. We run down Rodeo Drive and the Sunset Strip, past the Hollywood Walk of Fame and the Chinese Theater where all the celebrities leave hand- and footprints and their signatures in cement.

The U.S. Olympic Trials Marathon will be held the day before, on the same course, so we’ll get to see all of the best U.S. marathoners competing for a spot on the 2016 Olympic marathon team.

A lot of my Loop friends will be there too. I think right now we have about 15 running it, including one woman who actually qualified to run in the Trials, and a few local Loopsters who aren’t running but are coming to hang out.

It just so happens the L.A. Marathon falls on a weekend I should be doing a 20-miler for Shamrock training anyway, so that’s perfect.

And finally, even though it’s almost 70 here today, I’m sure by the middle of February it’s going to be cold and miserable and I’ll be very ready for a week in the sun.

I am so excited! I couldn’t sleep last night haha. Only two months to wait!

Speaking of Shamrock training, today I’ll be making up one of the 3-milers I skipped earlier this week. I might take Pepper to the trail for it. It’s so pretty out there today!

This weekend I’m supposed to do a 13-mile long run and a 6-mile pace run. Clark is running a 5K with a coworker tomorrow morning, so maybe I’ll take Pep with me for the 6-miler while Clark is gone, and do the long run Sunday when he’ll be home.

Other than running, I don’t have any plans this weekend. I should probably get the Christmas decorations down. It’s two weeks from today, after all.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

