A Simple Running Log

October 12, 2015

Training for 10/12/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:24 pm

A cold front came through Friday night, making it quite a bit cooler when I ran Saturday. Much better running weather! Still, I just didn’t feel like running. I stuck it out for the entire 12.2-mile loop, but it was a struggle the whole way. I just was not into it.

The beer festival in Salisbury was fun though. My cousin wound up bailing on us, so it was just Clark and me, though we did run into one of his coworkers, his wife and one of their friends while we were there. I had plenty of samples, but there was nothing new there that really impressed me. I’ve been to just about every local brewery that was there, so I’ve had everything they were pouring, and all the national breweries just had one or two of their most popular beers to sample that we can get in any store or on tap at any bar or restaurant. I’m glad we went Saturday, but we definitely didn’t need to go back the second day this year.

We went to Laurel for dinner at this little hole-in-the-wall Mexican restaurant called Taco’s Chabelita, on the recommendation of Clark’s coworker. Unnecessary apostrophe notwithstanding, it was REALLY good. Fresh guacamole, spicy ceviche, beef tongue tacos… everything we had was great.

Sunday, I dragged my feet getting out the door for my run, thinking it was going to be as much of a slog as the day before. It was a little after 10 a.m. when I finally left. Much to my surprise though, I felt good once I got going down the road, and the 6.5-mile loop breezed by. Love it when that happens.

We drove down to the beach in the afternoon so Clark could drop off a couple of surfboards for repairs, and got home in time to see the last 35 laps or so of the NASCAR race in Charlotte, which had been rained out the night before. Jimmie stupid Johnson’s car had some kind of electrical malfunction and he finished 39th. Even though he’s not in the running for the championship anyway (ha!), it’s still nice to see him keep on failing! Kevin Harvick, on the other hand, finished second.

Then the Ravens lost in overtime to the freaking Browns, dropping them to 1-4 on the season. I blame Sports Illustrated, for picking the Ravens to win the Super Bowl this year. Not looking very likely at this point.

Today, I took Pepper out for an easy lap around the 5.5-mile loop. It was just about a perfect day for a run, and I felt pretty good the whole way. Pepper even seemed to almost enjoy himself too, especially when we got home and he got a treat and then was back on his favorite spot on the couch.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

