A Simple Running Log

August 19, 2015

Training for 8/19/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 2:11 pm

Oh man, today’s run got a little ugly. I had an easy 8-miler, this week’s middle distance run. Even though I knew it was just as warm and humid as it’d been yesterday morning, I didn’t take any water with me. I didn’t feel like carrying it. I was really wishing I’d bothered with it about halfway through though. Dumbass.

Anyway, again I waited until Clark got back from his run to take off on mine. I warned him I might not make it back before he had to leave for work, but I was thinking it would just be because of the distance, not because of all the walking I was going to wind up doing!

The first few miles weren’t too bad, but as I was running past the ferry, I could tell I was going to have make a stop in the woods for a bathroom break soon. I took care of that at about mile 3.5. The rest of the way home, however, I kept getting bad stomach cramps, which would only go away if I walked them off. They’d then come roaring back after a couple more minutes of running. They weren’t caused by needing to use the bathroom again. I’m pretty sure it was caused by dehydration, after running in 100 percent humidity with no freaking water.

I didn’t let myself take the shortcut home, which only would’ve saved a mile anyway. It took forever, but I finished the whole 8.3-mile loop.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

