A Simple Running Log

July 23, 2015

Training for 7/23/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 11:45 am

I’ve been pretty good about getting in my run in the mornings this week! Maybe it’ll actually become a habit again.

Today, I got up when Pepper wanted his breakfast. When he was all taken care of, I got dressed and set Clark’s Garmin for an interval workout, four half-mile repeats with a quarter-mile of rest between each, plus warm-up and cool down.

If I’d driven into town to do 800-meter repeats on the track, I’d expect to do six miles total, but since I felt like doing them on the road instead, I took the cool down a little farther and ran the 6.5-mile loop.

It was a very nice morning for a run, much better than when I ran an easy lap around that same loop two days ago. I didn’t need to carry water and/or Gatorade, even though I’d be running a lot harder.

I did an easy mile to warm up, in just under 9:00, and then I sped up for the first interval.

When measuring the intervals, the Garmin just shows which number it is (1 of 4) and how much farther I have to go to finish it; it doesn’t show time or pace. So I had no idea if I was even close to my goal of 3:30 per repeat (7:00/mile pace) while I was running them.

All four fast intervals went OK, except for some digestive cramping I was getting in the last one. I had to stop in the woods to use the bathroom after I finished it.

At that point, I had another 2.5 miles of cool down to run to get home. I was about a mile from home when I had to stop in a corn field for a second bathroom break. Not a good day for the ol’ GI tract!

I finished the entire 6.5-mile loop in 57:19, an 8:54/mile average. (That included the corn field stop, where I forgot to pause the Garmin.) My four repeats were 3:31, 3:32, 3:25 and 3:24. So, while the first couple were slow, I sped up in the last two, which is encouraging. Overall I’d call that speed workout a success.

When I was about to get in the shower, I noticed a line of what looked like huge pimples on my left thigh, about where my shorts line would have been. Chigger bites. Great. I must have picked those up when I was in the woods. Thanks a lot, cranky butt!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

