A Simple Running Log

May 12, 2015

Training for 5/12/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:00 pm

I did an interval workout this morning, six 400-meter repeats. It wasn’t such a great day for it, as it was supposed to get up around 90 today. I actually got out there right after breakfast for once, but it was already about 75, sunny and humid.

Instead of going to the track, I just programmed Clark’s Garmin to measure out quarter-mile repeats with quarter-mile rest periods after each. With a warm up and cool down, I planned on the 5.5-mile loop.

On top of it being pretty warm, I haven’t run intervals, or any formal speed work, in forever. I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty!

I did a mile in 8:43 to warm up and then ran the first interval. I was dying when the Garmin beeped the end of that interval, and I still had five to go. Right before the second interval was over, I made a turn into the wind. It just kept getting better.

After the third interval, I had to take my first walk break. I wound up walking a little bit after each of the last three intervals too. And a little of the 1.5-mile cool down too.

But at least I’d made it through all six intervals, right? When I finished the cool down, I checked the times: 1:44, 1:46, 1:49 (!!), 1:43, 1:44 and 1:40. Yiiiiiikes! I really need to start doing these things on a regular basis again.

I’d run (well, run/walked) the entire 5.5-mile loop in 48:01, an 8:45/mile average.

The cherry on top was the pile of dog shit in the utility room when I opened the side door. Thanks Pep.

I’d wanted to go upstairs to do some strength training after I got home, but it was already unbearable up there, so I just did some ab exercises, push-ups, invisible chair-sitting and exercises with the dumbbells downstairs, where it was hot enough.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

