A Simple Running Log

March 31, 2015

Training for 3/31/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:33 pm

Yesterday evening, Clark, Pepper and I went out for a little run together. I had Pepper’s leash, and Pepper had the biggest stick in our yard at the moment.

After Sunday morning’s run in the icebox, yesterday evening was much nicer, shorts and long-sleeved shirt weather. I kept getting stupid gnats in my eyes, the first mile in particular, so it wasn’t perfect.

Anyway, the three of us did a lap around the 4.5-mile loop together. The first mile was about 9:25, the second and third sped up to 8:18 and 7:50 as Clark wanted to run a couple faster miles and Pepper kept trying to pull ahead of him, and then the last 1.5 slowed back down. I think we ran the whole loop at an 8:36/mile average according to my Garmin.

I never did any strength training last night like I’d been planning though. Then I stayed up late watching “Teen Mom,” because… well, I don’t know what exactly I find so mesmerizing about that show, but whatever. This morning, Clark got up early and asked if I wanted to do some strength training with him, but I pretty much just growled at him haha.

And then, this afternoon, I took Pepper to the trail for my last run of the month. I wanted to run a little farther than usual so I could make the month’s final mile total be a nice round number, so I wore the Garmin.

I never realized how freaking slow the first mile is with that dog, as he pees on EVERY LITTLE BUSH. 13:20! The second one was 10:25, which is still slow but that wasn’t his fault. There was a downed tree across the trail and we had to pick our way through the briars to get around it. I believe the third was 9:50 as he got distracted a few more times. Then we ran an additional 0.3 miles to bring today’s total to 3.3 miles.

Which brings me to my March summary.

Mileage:

  • Week 1 (March 1-7): 32.9 miles
  • Week 2 (March 8-`14): 25.1
  • Week 3 (March 15-21): 25
  • Week 4 (March 22-28): 39.2
  • Week 5 (March 29-31): 12.8

Total: 135 miles

My best mileage month since LAST JUNE! (148 miles.) Also, at the end of March last year, my entire year’s total to date was 208 miles; this year, I’m already at 357. I hope this upward trend continues!

Things went really well as far as racing went this month too. I ran a good 5K with Pepper, finished the Whale Challenge at Shamrock, including my first marathon in two years, and then ran the April Fools’ Day Challenge with Pepper. Those were my first four races since Rehoboth in early December.

On to April! I’d like to hit around 150 miles this month, and throw in some speed work to start getting ready for the upcoming summer series. The only race on my schedule is the Cherry Blossom 10-Mile Run on April 12. I’d thought about doing a cheap half marathon in Lewes a week after that, but my niece is getting baptized that morning, so that’s out.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

