A Simple Running Log

March 9, 2015

Training for 3/9/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:33 pm

I’ve had four very different runs over the past four days, and it seems that spring is actually here!

Friday was as cold as it’s ever been this winter. There was about 6 inches of new snow on the ground from Thursday afternoon’s storm, but the roads were clear enough to get in a run around the 4.5-mile loop in my trail shoes. I did a little strength training when I got home. That night, I told Clark I hoped that was the last time this year I’d have to run in two pairs of pants!

We went out for dinner that night in Salisbury. After dinner, we got some — OK, a lot — of beer from Cheers. That place has the best beer selection on the Eastern Shore probably. A few years ago, at the beer festival in Salisbury, I’d gotten to try a sample of this New Belgium beer, Lips of Faith Cocoa Mole. I have never seen it anywhere since. But Friday night, guess what was in Cheers? A big ol’ 750 mL bottle of it!

When we got home, I was almost nervous to try it. What if it wasn’t as good as I remembered? Well, I didn’t need to worry. It was as good as, if not better than I remembered. The chocolate flavor is strong but not too strong, and the heat at the end is perfect. If you ever see that stuff, try it. You will not be disappointed.

Anyway, I polished off that entire bottle and then got to work on some of the other stuff we’d bought. I don’t know when I finally fell asleep, but it was pretty late. I woke up on the couch at 6 a.m. and went to bed.

I’d been planning on a long run Saturday, but I’ll just say I wasn’t feeling up for it when I dragged myself out of bed later.

Sometime in the afternoon, I finally went out for a run. It had warmed up enough since Friday that I only needed one pair of tights and one cold-weather top, but I still needed thin gloves and my earband. I told Clark I was going to try to do the 8.4-mile loop, but I’d cut it short if I didn’t feel well. I took my water bottle with me because I always get side stitches if I drank a lot the night before.

Well, I didn’t feel too bad, much to my surprise. I didn’t have to cut short my run after all. I did have to stop in the woods to use the bathroom about 5.5 miles in though, right as a very low-flying fighter jet went screaming overhead. (Our house is right on the edge of the training air space for pilots stationed at Patuxent River.) If I hadn’t been in the woods already, I’d have probably crapped my pants haha.

That evening, Clark and I went to the wedding reception for my friend Julie and her new husband, Nick, who got married in St. Thomas a couple weeks ago. Good news: They had an open bar. Bad news: The “beer” selection was just 50 cases of Bud Light. (I am not exaggerating that at all. Julie told me they’d bought 50 cases of Bud Light.) Today I read the perfect description of Bud Light — like seltzer water, but worse. So Clark made a beer run just for us. At first people made fun of us for buying beer when the Bud Light was free. Then they started taking our beer because hey, it really did taste better! So Clark wound up going back to the beer store twice more.

Horrible beer offering aside, the reception was a lot of fun. We were among the last to leave. I didn’t get drunk that night, but it was another late night.

Of course, the time moved forward an hour too. When I got up Sunday, I didn’t feel much like running. I was tired and my feet hurt from the stupid heels I’d worn the night before. But it was in the 50s by the early afternoon! And sunny!

I put on SHORTS and a long-sleeved top, no gloves, no hat or earband, and went out for a lap around the 4.5-mile loop. I felt a little clunky, but the temperature felt so amazing I just could not stop smiling!

Mike came over yesterday afternoon and we watched the Las Vegas race, which Kevin Harvick won (while Jimmie stupid Johnson finished 41st ha!) The three of us put down quite a bit more beer. It was just one of those weekends.

Today, it got even warmer, into the low 60s, so I got to wear not only shorts to run, but a short-sleeved T-shirt as well. Plus, I took Pepper with me, and he didn’t have to wear his dork jacket! We did a lap around the 6.5-mile loop together. It was pretty much perfect running weather.

Best of all, it looks like these decent temperatures are going to continue. There’s some rain in the extended forecast, but no more sub-freezing temperatures, and no more stupid snow. I think we really have seen the last of that crap for this winter!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

