A Simple Running Log

February 23, 2015

Training for 2/23/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:08 pm

Last week, when it was super cold and the roads weren’t totally clear, I wore my trail shoes and my thick Smartwool socks two days in a row. I’ve never had problems with either those socks or those shoes, which I ran a 50K in last summer. But wearing them together gave me some pretty horrendous blisters on my Achilles tendons, where the collars of the shoes were grinding into those thick socks.

Saturday, the roads were clear enough I didn’t have to worry about ice or snow, so I wore my 980s and thinner socks, hoping they wouldn’t rub the blisters. No dice. I made it around the 6.5-mile loop, but I could feel those blisters with every step.

That evening, Clark went to 3rd Wave with Mike, but I stayed home. I was lying on the couch when Pepper decided he wanted the end occupied by my feet, so he started pawing at my legs to move them. Somehow, he managed to place one claw directly into the middle of the blister on my left foot and pull on it hard enough to pop it. Immediate white-hot pain! I didn’t realize it’d popped though, until I stood up a couple hours later to go to bed and found out the liquid inside it had leaked out and then dried, essentially gluing the skin together. I could barely walk on it as it unstuck itself. Damn dog!

Yesterday morning, I could feel both blisters throbbing when I woke up, before I even got out of bed. So my first order of business was a trip to Walmart to buy moleskin padding, Neosporin, medical tape and Band-Aids. When I got home, I made a pretty elaborate patch for the left blister and a slightly less-involved one for the right one, and tied on my Zeros, my thinnest shoes.

I didn’t have time for the 12-mile loop at that point, and it had actually warmed up enough I could take Pepper with me for the first time in a long time, so we set out to do the 5.5-mile loop together. It was cold enough he still had to wear his dork jacket, but I only had to wear one pair of tights and a single layer on top. Much better!

We ran past a neighbor’s house, where a guy was just hanging out in his yard in a T-shirt and jeans. It was nice yesterday, but not quite that nice haha. He called out “Pretty good day for a run!” and I yelled back “It feels amazing!”

It was about that time my blister patches started to slip, dammit. They only lasted a mile! Well, we were out there, so I kept running.

About two miles into the run, my foot found the one patch of still semi-frozen liquid on the road. The sound of my foot hitting the ice freaked out Pepper, who tried to break into a sprint, which, since I was holding his leash and had a foot on a patch of ice, almost caused me to face plant haha. Luckily, I was able to catch myself with my other foot. Pepper didn’t even look sorry.

The rest of the run was uneventful. When I got home, I tried to shovel away some of the ice and snow in the driveway while it was melted into a slush, but it wasn’t melted enough. I gave up again after about two minutes.

Clark got home from surfing, and then we all went over to Mike’s to watch the Daytona 500. I missed the end because I fell asleep, thanks to the growler of Sandstorm Clark had gotten me at 3rd Wave the night before. That stuff is lethal! It’s a Belgian tripel; very light and crisp, so you don’t even remember it’s about 9 percent ABV until you wake up two hours later and have to ask what happened at the end of the race. Bobby didn’t win, so I didn’t miss anything.

Speaking of Bobby — Kyle Busch, the current driver of Bobby’s former ride, the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, broke his right leg and left foot in a crash at the end of the Xfinity Series race the day before the 500. The leg injury was a compound fracture (bone protruding from the skin!) that required surgery and will leave Busch out of racing for a while as it heals. This means Gibbs needs to find an interim driver to fill in for him. I know one former (championship-winning) driver of that very car who needs a full time gig! I doubt it will happen, but I’d be so freaking excited if Bobby got to drive the No. 18 again!

Anyway… today, it’s right back to really cold, and windy again on top of it. Between that and the blisters on both feet that feel better but still aren’t completely healed, I think I’m going to take the day off from running.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

