A Simple Running Log

February 20, 2015

Training for 2/20/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:52 pm

Winter is such a pain in the ass!

Yesterday, I had an assignment that started at 7:30 a.m. in Denton, which meant I had to leave the house by 7. Before the snow hit Monday evening, Clark had squeezed the Jeep into the garage, meaning we had four cars in a three-car garage. (The poor Crown Vic was the only one left out in the elements.) Mine had been moved over and was kinda in between two of the doors. In addition, the driveway was still drifted over, and it was doubtful my car could make it out to the road anyway. So I just took Clark’s truck, and he got my car out when he had to leave for work.

It was freaking cold yesterday, and the wind was screaming. I made it to the early assignment, and then covered two more before noon.

I got home around 12:30 p.m. As I expected, the dog had pooped all over the utility room floor. At least there wasn’t puke though. It annoyed me that I didn’t get that upset about cleaning up poop, since there wasn’t puke. I’m sure that was Pepper’s plan all along!

I had to get an article written for today’s paper by the end of the afternoon. By the time I got it filed, it was about 3:30 p.m. and I was not interested in running anything. It looked like it had somehow gotten even colder and windier than it’d been in the morning.

So I didn’t run. I did, however, decide I was going to be nice and shovel the driveway so Clark could get my car back up to the garage. I got all layered up, got the shovel out of the shed and started digging. Yeah, nope. It was just a solid chunk of ice, and completely immovable.

I did what I could, which lasted about 10 minutes, and then I gave up and went back in. I did a little strength training, but that was it for training yesterday. Winter won again.

I had to go back out again a little later to steer my car while Clark pushed it up the drive after he got it stuck haha. We managed to get it through the snow and put away.

Today, I didn’t have to go anywhere for work, but I was supposed to drive over to the DMV to get the registration renewed before it expires Sunday. Well, I guess I’m just going to be a scofflaw as of Sunday, because the driveway looked just as bad as it did last night. I didn’t even try to get it out of the garage.

I did, however, go for a run. I waited until the mid afternoon, when the feels like temperature was supposed to be at its highest of the day: 3 degrees, thanks to the 15 mph wind (which was an improvement over yesterday at least.) And the sun was out, so that helped.

I put on both pairs of tights (first time I’ve ever tried to do that, but it worked out fine), a wool base layer shirt, a mock neck compression top over that, a heavy pullover on top of that, my thick Smartwool socks, trail shoes in case the back roads were still as bad as they apparently got by late afternoon yesterday, the Oakleys, a beanie, my super thick fleece gloves and a scarf, so I could pull it up over my face when I had to run into the wind.

I set out down the road and immediately regretted leaving the couch! It was just so painfully cold. I almost turned around, but then I realized how lame it would be to have spent more time getting dressed to run than actually running. By the time I got to the end of the first mile, I felt a little more comfortable. I did the 5.5-mile loop.

I think tomorrow is supposed to warm up a bit, and then Sunday’s supposed to be almost 50 and rainy, which should melt this stupid ass snow. And then no more snow! Even though it’s supposed to go right back to cold and shitty Monday.

Anyway, the training plan calls for a 6- and 12-miler this weekend. I think I’ll save the longer run for the warmer day. I don’t even care that it’s supposed to rain.

The big excitement this weekend is the DAYTONA 500!! It’s finally here! After Bobby wrecked AGAIN in the Bud Duels last night, he had to take the past champion’s provisional to get into the race and will start last, but at least he’s starting! We’re going to Mike’s house to watch it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

