A Simple Running Log

January 16, 2015

Training for 1/16/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 5:10 pm

I’m still feeling the effects of donating blood a couple of days ago. I hope I am, anyway. I was going to run my 7.3-mile loop today, but by the end of the first mile, I was so out of breath, I had to take a walk break. I cut short the run to the 4.5-mile loop instead, with plenty of walk breaks whenever I needed them.

I was wondering how long it typically takes me to feel normal again after donating blood, so I looked up my donation history on the blood bank’s website and then looked up my blog entries from the days after. Most of my donating has been done when I was either injured or in a training downtime anyway, but I did find this entry from Feb. 16, 2011, when I was smack dab in the middle of the peak of marathon training for that year’s Shamrock:

“This morning, I didn’t feel any different after the blood donation yesterday afternoon, so I did my push-ups, ab exercises, invisible chair-sitting and 5.5 easy miles with Pepper as planned.”

Well la dee da, how wonderful for you, Abby from four years ago! Showoff.

Anyway, the old, decrepit version of myself I’m apparently living with now is going to try to do a long run tomorrow. It has to be tomorrow, because Clark and I are going up to Annapolis on Sunday to help move his brother and sister-in-law, so there will be no time for running that day. I wanted to bump up the 10.5 miles that went so well last weekend to the 14.5-mile loop this weekend, but I’ll just see how I feel, I guess.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

