A Simple Running Log

January 14, 2015

Training for 1/14/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 4:53 pm

Monday, I never ran. I can’t remember why now… oh right, it was pouring rain and I only had a 3-miler on the schedule. I was going to do some strength training, and got about a third of the way through a routine Clark had found online specifically for surfers (the guy demonstrating the exercises is even wearing board shorts.) But then Clark invited over one of his friends to watch the college football championship game, so I dropped the resistance bands and drank beer and ate leftover pizza instead. Practically the same thing.

I didn’t sleep very well that night. Yesterday morning, I didn’t get up early enough to run before my usual Tuesday meeting. I came home early, intending to run in the afternoon, but the damn dog had shit all over the utility room again, even though he’d had to spend two and a half hours less than usual home alone. That just pissed me off. So instead of running anything, I laid on the couch and glared at Pepper while stewing in my grouchy tiredness. I really do not handle it well when I don’t get as much sleep as I want.

This week of training was not going so great! But it’s turning around. I slept much better last night. Today, in spite of another winter storm that came through and brought the return of sub-freezing temperatures and snow that turned into freezing rain, I ran an easy lap around the 7.3-mile loop. It actually wasn’t terrible. All but one road on the loop had been plowed, and my trail shoes did just fine in the slush and little bit of snow left behind.

This afternoon, I made good on my New Year’s resolution to donate blood more regularly, making my first donation of the year. I’d like to do it at least twice more. Technically, you can do it every eight weeks, which would work out to six times in a year, but, eh. That seems like a lot. I do love those free cookies though!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

