A Simple Running Log

January 12, 2015

Training for 1/12/15

Filed under: Uncategorized — aschmid3 @ 3:19 pm

Friday morning, I bundled up and ran an easy 3-miler first thing, as soon as I got out of bed. It was still ridiculously cold, and windy again on top of it. It helped that the wind was at my back on the way out though, so when I was running head-on into it on the way back, there was no bailing out, as that was the only way home.

When that was out of the way, I went to Salisbury with my friend Julie to see “The Woman in Black 2: Angel of Death.” We saw the first “Woman in Black” when it came out three years ago, and really liked it, so we were pretty excited to see this one. I see it’s gotten some pretty unflattering reviews online from both critics and regular people, but I liked it. It wasn’t quite as good as the first one, but it had its moments. It also very heavily hinted there will be a third installment.

Saturday was even colder than Friday, and still windy. I could not muster up the motivation to go outside and run anything. All the runs I did last week sucked, start to finish. I never warmed up or felt comfortable. My legs probably felt the worst. My basic Under Armour compression tights are fine for our normal winter conditions, but when it gets abnormally cold, like last week, they don’t cut it. So I either have to layer fleece pants on top, which just feel awkward to run in, or put up with perpetually cold legs.

I researched warmer running tights, but I’m not paying $100 or more for a pair of thermal tights I’ll only need once every few years. I did, however, stumble across this gem of a clueless review for a pair of Under Armour running tights:

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 2.58.57 PM

Girl, I think you’re confused… these are running tights, not fashion leggings. Under Armour is going to put the logo wherever the hell they want, because they’re making them for people to work out in, not wear under dresses. This one’s on you, idiot.

Anyway, I successfully avoided going outside all day Saturday, until we left to get beer at 3rd Wave and then go to Mike’s house to watch the football games. Sadly, the Ravens lost to the Patriots, but I’m not too broken up about it. They beat the Steelers last week, so I’m good.

Sunday, something amazing happened. It got above freezing! We went to Walmart after breakfast to get everything to make chili. Once I had it all going in the Crock Pot, I put on ONE pair of tights, ONE long-sleeved top, a baseball hat instead of a beanie, thin gloves instead of super thick fleece gloves and normal socks instead of my thick wool socks, filled up my water bottle and hit the road.

I actually ran a double-digit run yesterday! And felt great the whole way! I ran my 10.5-mile loop, untimed. I took a pull off the water bottle every 1.5 miles or so, ate a GU halfway through and just enjoyed not feeling like a layered-up popsicle for the first time in a week. It was a pretty great run.

When I got home, Clark had invited over a coworker to watch the other two football playoff games. We finished off the whole pot of chili, which I thought turned out pretty well.

Today, I’ve got strength training and an easy 3-miler on the schedule. I don’t know if running is going to happen though. It’s been raining since I got up, and I don’t think it’s supposed to let up any time soon. I know, I know, I’m being a pansy again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

